We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Torrey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Save Saved
You added Broken Spur Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Broken Spur Inn
955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Torrey
Fullerton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best place in Torrey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked a room here because all of the other hotels in the Torrey area were full. We are so glad we did. The Broken Spur is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff is friendly and the restaurant very good. Plus, they gave us 10% off our breakfast bill when we brought our room key with us. The room rates are reasonable and the so are the restaurant prices. We ca't say enough nice things about this place. We will definitely book a room here again and recommend this hotel to all of our friends and family who may be traveling through the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
We are so glad you were able to book a room with us at the Broken Spur. We have only been open since August 2012 after being closed for almost a year and so we are trying to let people know we are open again. We enjoy meeting new people everyday and our goal is to make your stay a great one. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
42
55
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Not a lot of choices to stay in Torrey UT, close to the park, but Broken Spur is definitely the best choice! Fairly new building; extremely clean and comfortable. The owners/hosts and staff are very friendly and do everything they can to make you feel at home. The pool and jacuzzi are indoor, with toilet & changing rooms, and open till 10pm so you can recuperate from a day in the park. Their restaurant is as good as it gets in Torrey. Great breakfasts, very good steaks, amazing burger. A little pricey on the menu, but everywhere in Torrey is a bit overpriced. We ate at a few places, and Broken Spur is the best overall. The park is only 10 minutes down the road. Internet is free, and very good. And your cel phones work here, as well. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it. If your car GPS cannot find the address (ours could not), just punch in the intersection of U-24 and U-12.

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge and microwave when you make your reservation. Not available in all rooms (we learne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your review as we love to hear from our guests. And yes it is a good to request a microwave and fridge if you need one as all of our rooms do not have them. Our goal is to make people feel welcome and enjoy their stay. We certainly hope you will be able to come and stay with us again. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The room decor is very nice and the beds are extremely comfortable. The views from the balcony are spectacular. We did not have the opportunity to eat at the restaurant because they were getting ready to close the kitchen by the time we checked in. My wife and kids went to the pool and were pleased with the pool but were disappointed that the jacuzzi was not working. If you are visiting Capitol Reef, you should definitely stay here, it's close, convenient and comfortable. The only reason I don't give it a rating of 5 is that it was the most expensive hotel that we paid to stay at during our "Grand Circle" road trip of visiting the various National Parks in Utah, Colorado, and Arizona.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor facing the pool, you will have great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Broken Spur Inn. We are glad you liked the pool and feel bad about the hot tub. Our heating element went out and we had to order a new one. It came in about 2 days, so unfortunately your stay was during that 2 day period when it wasn't working. So sorry! We also feel bad you didn't arrive in time to eat in our steakhouse. We actually close at 9,but sometimes if we are way busy we don't get shutdown until 9:30. As far as our rates go, we try to be comparable to the other motels in town. We do give multiple room and multiple night discounts, and also triple A, senior citizen, military and ARP, We are also in the process of providing free hot breakfast for our guests starting about the 12th of August. We have a few things to work through first. We certainly do enjoy meeting lots of new people from lots of different places. We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

...this place to stay. Our room was immaculate, the beds were comfortable and as you've heard in other reviews, the views are amazing. We ate both dinner and breakfast there (don't miss the buttermilk syrup for your pancakes...to die for!) and the owners were there visiting with everyone. If you're traveling through don't miss this place to stay. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments! We certainly do appreciate your business. We are glad you enjoyed the buttermilk syrup (a family recipe!) We enjoy meeting so many nice people as they pass though. Thank you again and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

this is a diamond of a place after the long trip from Bryce through the canyons and mountains. met the owner --- a seventh generation rancher of this area, and he was a great source of history. everything you need or want, including a good internet and cell phone connection(unlike cedar city). room was great but did need a coffee maker. for a place out of the way it deserves five stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! Our goal is to make each guest feel at home and have a comfortable stay with us. We do have free coffee for our guests in the foyer of the lobby any time the lobby is open. We don't have coffee makers in the rooms as we had to replace a lot of carpet when we bought the motel last fall, all because of coffee stains that were impossible to get out.
We enjoy meeting people from all over the world and we do so appreciate your business. We hope you can visit us again. Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We ended up staying here after our dissapointment with the Best Western at the edge of town. We walked in without a reservation and got a room plus received a discount for staying 2 consecutive nights. I noticed from other reviews that the rooms had recently been renovated and comparable to a 5 star hotel, I wouldn't go that far, unless we were in a room that hadn't been renovated yet. The bedding looked a little dated and had some stains and there was a used plastic cup next to the bed, perhaps housekeeping had overlooked. Other than those few minor issues, our room was comfortable and quiet. The location was perfect, towards the edge of town without being too remote. My only suggestion would to be to offer a guest laundry facility... with 2 nights in town and not much to do at night it would have been convenient to be able to do our laundry onsite. We ended up using the laundry facility at Austin's Chuckwagon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate feedback so we know where to improve. My deepest apologies for the cup near the bed!!!! I am totally embarrassed!!! We hire housekeeping staff and hope they do their very best. I try to check rooms behind them as frequently as my time allows. Again, I apologize. The bedding is actually new - so again if there were stains, that is the fault of housekeeping. I will visit with them all and make sure they understand to wash the bedspreads. As far as laundry goes...we bought this motel last August. It had been closed for over a year. We spent the whole winter renovating it and it took a lot of time and elbow grease. There was not a laundromat here when we bought it. We have plans for one, but have had so much to do this past year that we haven't had time to get it in yet. Hopefully by the end of the season, but if not then for sure by spring. However, we sometimes have a guest ask about a laundromat, so we have accommodated them by letting them use our own laundry. I am sorry you had to go elsewhere. Thank you for your feedback - we will try to improve as our goal is to make all of our guests comfortable in a great surrounding with nice CLEAN rooms. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

...there were a few important details missing for our particular needs. One was the lack of a coffee maker. There's no other option for coffee if you want to get out at 6 AM. We were told they had coffee in the lobby 24/7, but when I walked over at 4:45 AM, the lobby was shut tight. So I got a Pepsi from the vending machine to get my morning kickstart. (I wish they had just told us the truth so I could have bought a red bull or something the night before.) There also wasn't a fridge or microwave in our room. To be fair, the website says you can request a fridge. In our case none was available unless we wanted to move to another room - and we were already quite unpacked. These points marred an otherwise fine experience. Our bed was comfortable and we slept well in the deep quiet that prevails in Torrey. The wi-fi, TV and Direct TV worked well. Our room was clean and well maintained. The towels were particularly fluffy and there were nice amenities for the bath. The price was fair. So you'll probably do fine at the Broken Spur unless you, like us, want coffee at 5 AM.

Room Tip: If you want a fridge, be sure to request it when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We always enjoy reading trip advisor comments so that we can see where we need to improve in making our guests comfortable. We apologize that you misunderstood about complimentary coffee. We have coffee available all day in the foyer of our motel for our guests. It says right on the check-in paper we gave you that our lobby hours are from 6:00am until 10:00pm. There are several reasons why we don't have coffee makers in our rooms. The biggest one is because when we bought the motel last August, we had to replace carpet in several rooms. The main reason was because of coffee stains that are totally impossible to get out. Also, because we have a restaurant that is attached to our motel, we have coffee available all day. We are more than happy to accommodate guests if they want a room with a fridge and a microwave. The majority of our guests don't want one, so we don't have them in all the rooms. But if a guest requests a room with a fridge we are happy to put them in one. We offered to have you move to a room with a fridge and would have been glad to have had you done that. I try to train my front desk help to always ask when checking guests in to see if they want a room with a fridge. Either you didn't hear them or they forgot to ask. We are glad you slept well in comfy beds and had fluffy towels. Our goal is to make our guests comfortable and encourage them to come back. We hope if you get this way again you will come stay with us, request a fridge and come in at 6am for coffee. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, swimming pool, hot tub, full service beauty salon, bakery & gift shop. We are located at the jct hwy 12 & 24 and the gateway of Capitol Reef National Park. Our hilltop location gives us beautiful views. We have a Comcast tower which provides cell service to anyone no matter who your provider is. Our rooms have free wi-fi, direct TV, fridges & microwaves ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken Spur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.