We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite rare find to stay close to Capital Reef NP and Boulder Mountain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broken Spur Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Broken Spur Inn to your Saves list
Broken Spur Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A definite rare find to stay close to Capital Reef NP and Boulder Mountain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The view is spectacular of the Capital Reef Park and Boulder Mountain. The staff is very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The jacuzzi tub was a special treat for us after hiking Capital Reef Park. Gary and Francine, the owners, were great about telling us great places to go and taking care of us like we were long lost friends. We would definitely come back for the whole package vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We appreciate your choosing to stay with us at the Broken Spur. Thank you for your kind review. Our goal is to make our guests feel at home and have an enjoyable stay. If you ever get back this way, we would love to have you stop by and "kick off your boots and stay awhile!" Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    90
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
107
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It surely is nice to walk into a room and have the smell of new carpet. The room design is very appealing, showers strong and water hot, beds comfy, room nice size.
Plus
Literally at intersection of UT12&24
Pleasant staff
Microwave and fridge

Note: Breakfast is not included in room price although they give $5 off per room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at the Broken Spur. We are new and learning a lot. We appreciate your kind comments and hope we can continue to make improvements. We hope you will come stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we stopped at the Broken Spur Steakhouse while visiting Capitol Reef, my wife and her sister ordered the pistachio and lime crusted salmon and I ordered the combine (tenderloin) medallions topped with shrimp, blue cheese and a mushroom demi glaze, the only thing we can say is INCREDIBLE, hands down the best steakhouse in the western half of the states, the steak melted in your mouth and the salmon didn't even taste like salmon and beautiful presentation, we also had the best bread pudding I think I have ever had (better than my moms) they have one of the best and most talented chefs, you guys better hold on to this one, we are planning another trip and will be staying at the Broken Spur, we recommend them to everyone!!!

Room Tip: rooms are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are so delighted that you enjoyed our steakhouse and we most certainly appreciate your positive review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here as we were traveling across the Southwest. It is a diamond in the rough. The hotel has recently been renivated and is under new ownership. They are the nicest people, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very comfortable, great beds, lovely decor. But what makes this place special is the people who run it. The food in the restaraunt was outstanding. The steaks are all hand cut and aged for 21 days. Since the owners are also cattlemen, they know their beef. The breakfast was wonderful as well. You must try the specialty: homemade cranberry bread french toast. Yummy. We loved this hotel and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Broken Spur and thank you for your kind review. Because we are a diamond in the rough, we hope we can continue to improve on all aspects of our business. Please stop in again if you ever get back this way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Ate at this new restaurant first part of April. I ordered the Ribs and was not disappointed. My wife ordered the pasta and was delighted. The food was exceptional and service was friendly and efficient. I have eaten at many restaurants throughout central Utah in the past few years. The Broken Spur is definitely one of the best. We will be back.

Room Tip: No hotel stay. Just ate at restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We appreciate your decision to eat with us at the Broken Spur. Thank you for your nice comments. We welcome you back any time and hope next time you might also decide to spend the night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicknell, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I decided to try out the new steakhouse in Torrey that was previously known as the Sandstone. We couldn't have made a better choice. The food was excellent, the prices are very reasonable - especially for a steakhouse, and the service was very helpful and polite. I would definitely recommend this steakhouse to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for deciding to dine with us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope that you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Randomly looking for dinner after a day at Capitol Reef National Park, we decided to give the Broken Spur a try. We could not have gotten more lucky. The restaurant, under new ownership, had only been open a couple weeks. The owner, a retired cattle rancher, along with a talented chef, made for some incredibly good steaks. My wife had the New York Strip, and I had the Bacon Wrapped Filet - both were delicious! The owners and employees could not have been more kind to my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francine H, Owner at Broken Spur Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We were glad you decided to eat at our steakhouse. Yes we are new and so we are excited when we hear that people enjoyed our food. We hope we can only get better with time. Please come and visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broken Spur Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broken Spur Inn

Address: 955 E SR-24, PO Box 750355, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Broken Spur Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 50 spacious rooms, a conference center, indoor swimming pool, hot tub, full service beauty salon, bakery & gift shop. We are located at the jct of hwy 12 & 24 and are the gateway to Capitol Reef National Park. Because of our hilltop location we have the best views in town. Our rooms have free wi-fi, coffee pots, direct TV, fridges & microwaves. Our on-site steakhouse has a great menu with something for everyone. Our meat is aged for 21 days and is cooked to perfection just the way you like it. We also have a kids menu for children under 12. Kick off your boots and stay awhile. Let the Broken Spur be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Broken Spur Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broken Spur Inn Torrey, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken Spur Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.