We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place near Capitol Reef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Red Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Red Sands Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Spring City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good place near Capitol Reef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

On a trip around Utah's parks, Torrey has a central location near Capitol Reef. This hotel was reasonably priced and fairly new. Rooms were big and clean and the pool was nice. But don't expect a bargain at Torrey restaurants.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    125
    47
    12
    2
See reviews for
94
160
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night while traveling Southern Utah to see all the National Parks. It's a nice, newer hotel with comfortable rooms. The included continental breakfast was mediocre but filling, but for the price we paid for the room, a real bargain!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Out on a road trip just winging it and turned in here. We needed 2 rooms on the bottom floor close together and they made it happen for us. Nice big rooms, lovely pool and spa, a hot breakfast, good fast Wi-Fi, and a good price, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights. The price was very reasonable and the location is only a short drive from Capitol Reef. My daughter loved the horses out back and the staff even told us about a remote location to very one of the rare flash flood events during this time of year.

The room was clean, just a bit close quartered, and had a slight odor, but like that of any other hotel room. Overall the room was fine and the king size bed was worth the tight quarters :-). Breakfast was good too.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Coming off a morning spent outside in near 100 degree temperatures, we were so happy to see the pool at the Red Sands Inn. Our check in was quick and friendly so that we had laundry going in the hotel's coin operated machines (next to the pool) and ourselves splashing in the cool water of the pool within 15 minutes of pulling up to the hotel.

Our room was large and had two queen beds, a refrigerator, and a microwave. Everything was clean and in good repair. The rooms were quiet even though they had a pretty full house. We were located right behind the lobby so it was convenient for running back and forth to the laundry room and pool.

The free morning breakfast consisted of standard continental breakfast foods (bagels, toast, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee), plus there was a waffle maker, sausage and scrambled eggs. That was a lot more than we expected for the price.

We liked watching the hummingbirds come and go from the front feeders and the mule deer behind the hotel.

The hotel is an excellent bargain and it really delivers on the kinds of amenities that matter to travelers on a longer road trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We found the staff to be friendly, efficient & pleasant. Room was decent size, clean & pleasant as well. Bed as well as bedding was exceptionally comfortable. We had a jetted bath which worked quite well in soothing our sore limbs. View outside our windows were just gorgeous! Views from outside were great too. And the peace & quiet... Would definitely consider staying there again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family of seven stayed here and enjoyed the quiet room. Our neighboring rooms were thankful they couldn't hear us. It was nice to find adjoining rooms, beds were a good size and comfortable. Quick check-in, friendly staff, nice pool and spa. We requested a roll away and was in the room when we arrived. Really enjoyed a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sands Hotel

Address: 670 East Hwy 24, Torrey, UT 84775
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Red Sands Hotel Capitol Reef your gateway to adventure in one of southern Utah's most beautiful national parks. Red Sands Hotel's clean rooms, new plush beds, flat screen TV's and refreshing pool make it the perfect home base. Start your day with a buffet-style hot breakfast including scrambled eggs or omelets,(selections rotated daily for variety) sausage, waffles, cereals, yogurt, fresh bagels & breads, seasonal fruit, juices and milk. Of course we serve coffee and tea 24/7 at Red Sands Hotel for your convenience. After an exciting day of hiking through red rock, biking on endless trails, and discovering the beauty of Capitol Reef, relax at Red Sands Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sands Hotel Torrey, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.