We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef to your Saves list
Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   877 North State Road 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Howard Johnson Capitol Reef)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lots of problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel needs lots of maintenance to take advantage of location. The room was large, but there was no phone, no smoke detector, reading lamp not working. The staff was friendly but seemed incompetent. The breakfast room was a disaster the first morning (there was some problem with deliveries and a tour group overwhelmed staff).
There were many maintenance issues, housekeeping was so-so.
Hotel has potential, but the owner needs to be concerned about maintaining investment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. We were on the bottom and the room creaked all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    83
    43
    27
    8
See reviews for
49
133
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We did not experience any of the issues mentioned by previous guests in reviews at the end of August. The staff at check in was very pleasant and completed the registration quickly. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. There are a few unusual reservation and housekeeping policies that we have not encountered other places, but they did not impact our stay. (The person who took our reservation over the phone did not ask for a credit card number to secure late arrival. We arrived long after 6:00pm, and our reservation was in effect.) Breakfast choices are somewhat limited, but adequate. It's convenience to Capitol Reef National Park is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Isn't it nice when hotel staff make you feel welcome and valued as a customer. This most definitely isn't corporate policy at this Howard Johnson where I felt treated as a necessary evil, not as a guest. The word incompetence came to mind when I had to wait for more than 10 minutes to get checked in, with only one family ahead of me. However, the real attitude towards hospitality emerged when they refused to make the bed because I had left my pyjamas on the it. I was told that they couldn't touch it for fear of being sued by me under some state law. So much about common sense - why anyone would sue a hotel for this is beyond me.
A shame, really - given it's great location, this Howard Johnson would have much potential. But not with its current attention to customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A very nice hotel in the middle or Capitol Reef. Spacious and clean room, comfy beds. Fridge and coffee maker available in the room. Capitol Reef National Park is just a few kilometers away. The whole area is amazingly beautiful and this hotel was a great find. Would be a great base for staying in the area if only we had more time. There's plenty to see around. Hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef

Address: 877 North State Road 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Howard Johnson Capitol Reef)
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Affordable Inn Of Capitol Reef Torrey, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affordable Inn of Capitol Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.