We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Reef Resort to your Saves list
Capitol Reef Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Memorable location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The most memorable feature of this motel is the range of red rocky cliffs behind it. Watching the light change in morning from the balcony as the sun rises leaves a longlasting impression.

We stayed there because it is close to Capitol Reef NP. Since it was February the motel was quiet with few guests. Nevertheless the room was warm and clean. Breakfast was not included in the rate and was served in the onsite restaurant. Makes you appreciate what good value the inclusive breakfast in most BW motels is.

If you want to visit Capitol Reef NP your lodging choices are restricted but this motel serves the purpose nicely. There seem to be many outdoor resort facilities but given the time of year we did not make use of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, General Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank You so Much we do have great views CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    314
    131
    25
    9
See reviews for
162
316
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Rooms are clean and well decorated. Views are good and service is pleasant. Beds are comfortable, rooms a tad small but very clean and welcoming. Have a lovely pool, basketball court and close to a decent restaurant across the highway. Great location for Capitol Reef.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank You So Much for this review we alway strive to do our best we are happy you enjoyed your stay thanks CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a "larger room" with a nice view to the mountains. Room was clean, but the fridge inside was sticky. There are some lamps, but are unable to light the room (a BW problem). In the room are not enough electric outlets to charge the batteries for the camera and notebook. The breakfast was not included. We paid 140 Dollar per night, which was overprized.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank You so much for your comment we will look at the lighting issue Thanks again for letting us know where we need to improve our service CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Would have been nice to have fresh sheets- would have been nicer to have shampoo and soap in the shower.
The sheets had stains-the same stains we found in our freshly made beds after the next day of hiking. Walls paper thin, noisy neighbors- can hear everything! Housekeeping was smoking just outside the nonsmoking rooms- eewww
The year round pool was open, but the basketball court was closed due to cold weather...?
Will not be staying there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I'm so sorry about your experiance I will for sure speak to housekeeping about both issues
Sorry This is not our standards CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manyana, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed one night and were given a room at the rear. It was very quiet, the bed was comfortable. We ate in house. Basic food with an additional choice of Asian dishes. Situated about 7 miles out of town.

Room Tip: Avoid you want to be in the town centre but close to the national park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank You we are happy you enjoyed your room, yes we are out of the main town a short drive but very close to the park. We are a mile to the park and 7 miles to the Visitors Center you do not have to pay to get in to our park just a small fee for the scence drive. Thank You CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

More or less the usual BW inn, but not a "Plus". Handy for Capitol Reef. The adjoining restaurant (Chimney Rock?) was good for breakfast, especially after a week of "free hot breakfasts" at several BWs, in Utah.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you we hope you enjoyed you trip through our pretty area we a very small town but we strive to do our best. Thank You for your comments on breakfast sometimes a good beakfast is wonderful to start our day. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I rate it excellent and write such a strange title... because this place is very special to me. The red rock surroundings are breathtaking and mesmerizing... and the view is excellent from this location outside of the small town of Torrey. This last visit (I've been here three times), in March, was kind of cut short because of a storm coming in... and while Chris, the manager, upgraded me to having breakfast, I could not stop to eat.

Perhaps that might be my only complaint about this special 'resort'... it's wonderful if you don't have to get out early in the morning and can sit and enjoy the view out the restaurant's windows and a breakfast you have to order and eat there; but if you have to get out and are 'on a roll'... a breakfast buffet is much preferable, with food you can grab and get going. So this negative for me only applies when you're not staying beyond breakfast. Just had a 'too late now' thought... and I guess I'd have to ask the motel, but perhaps there might be a 'bagged' breakfast for situations like this???? Wouldn't a breakfast burrito be perfect for that! Just an idea for the motel... don't go there thinking they do have it.

Because I'm not a summer person, and arrived earlier than their busy season... I did/could not take advantage of their pool and tennis court, and perhaps other things they provide as a resort. But everyone is so nice and helpful, and the rooms have such great views...some better than others. So just check it all out.... and see suggestion below.

THIS IS NOT A PAID PROMOTION!!!....As a member of the Best Western rewards (and two other chain memberships), I urge travelers to join motel chain memberships; it helps them as you choose them, but it also helps you because you can get benefits (free nights or gift cards, etc -- as there are times of special promotions and they'll email you about them). Also, going to the actual chain's website, there are often several kinds of discounts you can take advantage of.... and much info about amenities and photos.

Anyway, that is one reason why I first came here and have returned. I'm so thankful that the memories are so vivid inside my mind!!!!!

Room Tip: BW website does describe views available with rooms. A row of two stories of rooms are at the edge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
I cant thank you enough for this review we hear it alot but you really took the time to point out the good which we try on a daily bases to provide. The breakfast idea is great I will talk to the Chimney Rock about this, it would be good in the high season for guest are up and going early I'll see what I can do. Thanks again for you comments Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Reef Resort, the closest hotel to Capitol Reef National Park, is located just off Highway 12 on Highway 24 in Torrey Utah, Hickman's Bridge, and the Prehistoric Petroglyphs. Close to the Grand Staircase National Park, Fishlake National Forest, as well as Anasazi State Park and Goblin Valley State Park.Capitol Reef Resort offers spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television with Starz and Encore. Free high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy beautiful red rock views while dining at the hotel's onsite restaurant. This Utah hotel's additional amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, limited business services and conference facilities. Pets are welcome in pet friendly rooms at no additional charge. If you love the outdoors, there is no end to the sites at Capitol Reef National Park. Hikers will enjoy viewing Hickman Bridge, Petroglyphs, Sunset Point, Hamburger Rocks, Capitol Gorge, Falls at Gooseneck, numerous slot canyons, Golden Throne, Cassidy Arch, and Chimney Rock. This is just the beginning, as we have numerous parks around us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.