We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another day to get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capitol Reef Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capitol Reef Resort to your Saves list
Capitol Reef Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
E.C. utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“another day to get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I took my two girls..one my 30 year old and the other my grand daughter age 11 to Torrey..We ate at the best western restaurant for breakfast and really enjoyed that My grand daughter ate the food..she is pretty picky! We also enjoyed the out door hot tub!We always do! lol..This is our favorite place to get away! We love going across the street to Rim rock for beer and pizza and live tunes and fun people too! I know I will be going back soon! Its our "get away" spot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank You for coming back CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    314
    131
    25
    9
See reviews for
162
316
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The number one criteria in choosing an hotel or B&B for us (or anybody with a sound mind) is:

Can you sleep at night? If not! As well sleep in your car in a quiet setting .It will be cheaper!

This Best Western is the best hotel we have ever been in that regard. Absolutely zero outside noise as well as from the other guests occupying the rooms on each side of ours with all facing the Red Rocks.The second criteria is comfortable bed which this Best Western also provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks You so so much we are so happy you had a wonderful and also for your comments CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I see other reviews far better than mine, maybe it was just a fluke? First of all, I had asked for for a upstairs room facing the mountain with one bed non-smoking. I got a non-smoking room, nothing else. When I sat on a bed the first thing that came to mind was "hammock". If you like a soft bed you'd love the ones in my room. My main gripe is they didn't have breakfast. In the list of hotel amenities it shows a photo of the breakfast area, several toasters, juice machine, hot food containers, etc, exactly what you'd expect at a Best Western. But this hotel does not have a free breakfast. The toasters and juice machine, etc, are all behind a counter in the floor of what is now a restaurant. I went back and say in fine print "there may be a charge for breakfast". When I go back to Torrey I won't stay at BW, but will go to HOJO instead. I've stayed at HO JO with friends and found it to be equal if not a little better than Best Western, great view, and free breakfast. Oh, and for less $$ too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
I'm sorry you didn't like our property, and our pillow top beds. The Chimnet Rock Restaurant which is totaly separate from the Best Western Capitol Reef Resort even if they are in the same building does alot of group breakfasts, lunches and dinners. These area you seen is setup to handle a buffet style meal for thier guests. Again sorry CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

if it was not for the location i would have given this a lower rating. the views are to die for from the rear facing rooms - out over the mountains with lots of birds and shrubs in the foreground. The pool and particularly the jacuzzi have been positioned so that you also get this wonderful view and we had to be dragged away from it each evening. fantastic sunset. BUT the air con did not work in one of our 2 rooms, and the sheets were really grey and i was very doubtful that they had been changed from the previous guests. this was backed up by my adult daughter finding someone's ring in their bed!!!! they really need to improve their rooms. nice balcony

Room Tip: rear block has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thanks for your review I'm happy you enjoyed our property. And about your room I will show your review to housekeeping this should never happen thank you for letting us know we can, and will improve this problem. CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice room with a beautiful view!!! We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The office provided a basketball and tennis raquets and tennis balls for our kids to play with on their courts. Every place we went to eat in Torrey had delicious food. We especially loved Cafe Diablo, Red Cliffs and Slackers. We were 5 minutes away from many beautiful hikes in Capital Reef. A seriously fun vacation for our family!

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony and a view! We would highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed our hotel and the kids had a good time to great! Thank You CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a difficult review to write as what might be average or even below average in an urban area or on an Interstate is really very good in a town as isolated as Torrey. Further, the high tourist seasons are so short that adequate staffing is difficult for the hotel to accomplish, I'd suspect. At any rate, the problems we encountered such as pretty long waits at the desk and less than great service at the breakfast are understandable. The staff was friendly and did their best despite long hours. This hotel definitely is not new but the rooms have been updated sufficiently well and were very clean. We would stay there again. Torrey and Capitol Reef offer spectacular scenery.

Room Tip: Upper level are best but all have great views of the red rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank You yes it is so remote the staff works very hard, we so limited for hiring good staff here I'm thankful for your understanding of this. Thank You Again CJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed three nights at this nice motel. Although it is fairly new it has outside entrance doors to the rooms. The rooms were nice and had a great view of the red cliffs. Sunsets are spectacular. They have on site laundry but two of four machines did not work. We can't recommend the on site restaurant for breakfast unless you want a buffet. We ordered from the menu and service was poor and the food mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capreef, Front Office Manager at Capitol Reef Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for you comments we are happy you enjoyed the views, the Chimney Rock Restaurant is not part of the Best Western Capitol Reef also sorry about the laundry we are waiting for the repairman to get parts.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capitol Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Reef Resort

Address: 2600 East Highway 24, Torrey, UT 84775 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Torrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Torrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capitol Reef Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capitol Reef Resort, the closest hotel to Capitol Reef National Park, is located just off Highway 12 on Highway 24 in Torrey Utah, Hickman's Bridge, and the Prehistoric Petroglyphs. Close to the Grand Staircase National Park, Fishlake National Forest, as well as Anasazi State Park and Goblin Valley State Park.Capitol Reef Resort offers spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television with Starz and Encore. Free high-speed Internet access. Guests will enjoy beautiful red rock views while dining at the hotel's onsite restaurant. This Utah hotel's additional amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and hot tub, limited business services and conference facilities. Pets are welcome in pet friendly rooms at no additional charge. If you love the outdoors, there is no end to the sites at Capitol Reef National Park. Hikers will enjoy viewing Hickman Bridge, Petroglyphs, Sunset Point, Hamburger Rocks, Capitol Gorge, Falls at Gooseneck, numerous slot canyons, Golden Throne, Cassidy Arch, and Chimney Rock. This is just the beginning, as we have numerous parks around us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capitol Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capitol Reef Hotel Torrey
Best Western Torrey
Torrey Best Western
Capitol Reef Resort Torrey, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capitol Reef Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.