We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great ferry service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calico Jack's Ferry

Calico Jack's Ferry
1698 Island Road, Harkers Island, NC 28531
252.728.3575
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Other
Attraction details
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A great ferry service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Always use this ferry service when visiting the Cape Lookout seashore. Very good service, and reasonable rates. Call ahead to make sure you will get a spot on the boat. A trusted company for years.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    6
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap, efficient, & friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We called several ferry services looking for the best value & a way for only 2 people to get out to the cape lookout (on an off season Friday). This ferry was the only courteous & helpful one we talked to! For this reason we went to calico jacks & as we passed the other ferris we noticed they were really slow. When we got to this one he was running 4 boats! We got over to the cape right away (no wait) & he stopped in route to let us take some pictures of the horses. They were timely, friendly & only $10! We would absolutely use this service again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“SUPER!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We will do this again! Staff was helpful, clean restrooms, fair prices, clean boats, well organized! Stopped to let us watch BABY brand new baby dolphins swim along w their pods both going to lighthouse and coming back!! Took us over toward where a dozen wild horses were grazing and one colt was one day old with its Mom....dear dear!! Great service!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great service and dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We read the reviews before coming to Harker's Island and decided that Calico Jacks was definetely the ferry service to choose. We loved our experience! We took this ferry for two round trips- once to Cape Lookout and we enjoyed it so much we went the next day over to Shakleford Banks. We arrived first thing in the morning both days and were happy there were other customers to share the fare with- otherwise it wouldve been too expensive for just the two of us. Mike was our ferry operator and he was so friendly and welcoming which really added to our trip. Our dog was also welcome on board and she had a blast with the breeze in her fur. Mike stopped close to Shackleford Banks so we could see the wild horses which was a nice touch!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Time all the way around.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were looking for a ferry service to take us to Cape Lookout Light House and were told that Calico Jack's was the most reasonably-priced place to use. Even though it involved driving about 20-25 minutes from Pine Knoll Shores it was well worth it. The people who run this business go all out to make the trip to and from the light house a pleasurable experience. On the trip over the ferry boat captain stopped near Shackleford Banks and allowed us to take pictures of the famed wild horses - who happened to be out in full force that day! Also - when we were getting ready to depart from Cape Lookout the captain and crew were very thorough in making sure that all the people who were supposed to be on the boat were present and accounted for. If you are visiting Cape Lookout I HIGHLY recommend using Calico Jack's Ferry. They take care of you and help add to the awesome experience of visiting the light house and the beaches surrounding it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calico Jack's Ferry also viewed

 
Beaufort, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Calico Jack's Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calico Jack's Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.