We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I saw the ponies!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shackleford Banks

Shackleford Banks
2 miles south of Harkers Island, Harkers Island, NC
252-728-2250
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Islands
Attraction Details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I saw the ponies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We went in order to see the ponies. It was about a 20 minute hike before we saw them. some people on our ferry didn't see any while they were on the island. They were beautiful wild animals. We enjoyed the shelling (which is better on the sound side), and the ocean side was good for a walk. Near the ferry dropoff point there's a good place on the sound side for swimming, though we got in the oceanside too for a little bit. Lots of people right near the dropoff, but if you walk a half mile down the beach it's not very crowded at all!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    5
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“seashell heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

seashells galore and horses on the beach, non spoiled beaches, very private

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

it was a little chilly when we took the fairy out to the island but it was very lovely, We did not see any horses but it is a 9 mile long Island they were probably on the other side. Instead we gathered sea shells and saw some dolphins playing just off the east bank. It was very nice.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great half day/couple hour trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Take the ferry ($15) out to the Shackleford banks--small open boat, Island Ferry is one of the great ones (Captain Josh) and see the wild ponies, relax on the beach, have a family picnic. Fun for shell collectors, a great day. Bring sunscreen, water, no facilities on the island, maybe an umbrella for shade.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“AHHHH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

What a relaxing time to spend part of or a whole day on Shackleford Banks it's so nice to find sand dollars and relax on the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shackleford Banks also viewed

 

Been to Shackleford Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shackleford Banks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shackleford Banks to your Saves list