We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice affordable "beach" alternative in season” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
706 US Highway 64, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Oxford, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice affordable "beach" alternative in season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

You are ten minutes from the beach and paying a third less (at least) than in-season beach prices. These are clean, simple beachy accommodations. The wifi does not work in the rooms (I was told this before I booked. It works in the lobby) and we did have some issues with electricity as two of the outlets did not work. But in general it was a very nice room and we loved the little seating area under the palm tree behind the lobby. There is also an ice maker with plastic bags to bag your own ice for your cooler! There is a coffee-pod machine in the lobby as well, that makes good coffee. We have not seen the cottages, but they look very cool in the brochure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    10
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Some friends recommended the Guest House and it was wonderful. Very clean and the staff was as accommodating as any 5 star hotel. Enjoyed the Tiki Bar, sitting with friends enjoying some fun times. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay in Manteo. Nice, clean cottage. Not on the water. But a short walk to downtown. The Endless Summer Cottage owned and operated by the Island Guesthouse and Cottages is, as my wife would say, "cute as a button". Small but well stocked and quaint; fairly new and in excellent condition. Our only gripe was that both bedrooms were upstairs with a bath between. But that bath only has a tub; no shower. So we had to make the trip downstairs for the shower. In any event, yes, I would recommend the place without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the little life boat house for our honeymoon last July. It was the perfect place. The cottage the island, the people were all wonderful!! It is such a laid back island but plenty to do and see. The history is rich and the scenery breathtaking!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place surpassed our expectations! Initially, we were going to stay at the motel the month before. We had discovered Manteo during the Christmas holidays and fell in love with the small, quaint town. In early February, we lost one of our beloved dogs and wanted to to getaway to mend our hearts. We found this pet-friendly property but cancelled our reservations in the motel due to the weather forecast and booked The Wright Getaway instead for the following month, to celebrate my husband and my birthdays and brought our other dog along. This cottage is so tastefully decorated and left us wanting for nothing. It's within walking distance to the historic waterfront which is great. I would certainly recommend this place for a family reunion (the 3 cottages) and hope to do just that sometime soon. This one was the smallest, an efficiency, but still cute and cozy. The other two cottages are equally as beautiful. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: Can't speak for the motel but the cottages are AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

3 star because It is close to the beach. we asked for non-smoking room but the room smelled really bad. I had to go to store and buy a candle and room freshener. Front desk/Tiki bar was always abandoned. WiFi connections was not good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Endless Summer cottage and had a fabulous time. Graham was very nice and helpful during our stay. We had a problem with the heat and there was someone there to check it very quickly. The cottage was decorated really cute with a surfer theme carried thru out the cottage. 2 large bathrooms and plenty of space. Super clean...I could not tell that they allowed dogs. My kids loved the tree house on the grounds. We would certainly go back anytime!

Room Tip: any of the cottages would be a great choice
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Guesthouse & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Island Guesthouse & Cottages to your Saves list