We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Island Guesthouse & Cottages
Save
You added The Island Guesthouse & Cottages to your Saves list
706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Endless Summer cottage and had a fabulous time. Graham was very nice and helpful during our stay. We had a problem with the heat and there was someone there to check it very quickly. The cottage was decorated really cute with a surfer theme carried thru out the cottage. 2 large bathrooms and plenty of space. Super clean...I could not tell that they allowed dogs. My kids loved the tree house on the grounds. We would certainly go back anytime!

Room Tip: any of the cottages would be a great choice
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Endless Summer Cottage. It is very cute and the amenities are nice. Customer service was fine and we enjoyed our stay. It was "off" season and the location was good. We enjoyed being closer to the attractions since it was too cold for the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the Little Boat House Cottage on Roanoke Island, Historic Manteo. There are Three absolutely beautiful Cottages next to each other. These are different than the Motel just a few blocks away, so Don't confuse the Two. The Motel received Lower reviews, so be aware that I am reviewing the Cottages. These Three Cottages are New, Beautiful, Clean & Well worth the Money! It has a Kitchen, Living room, Bedroom, Bath with Whirlpool Tub upstairs & Shower downstairs. There is a Treehouse in the yard. They are Pet Friendly, so please pick-up after you pet so that they continue this practice. Just Two blocks from Historic Downtown Manteo & the Waterfront. Safe neighborhood to walk through. They gave us a complimentary Bottle of Wine. This is truly a FIVE STAR Cottage! Two couples could comfortably stay at The Little Boat House. I think The Endless Summer Cottage could accomidate Three or Four Couples. We LOVED it!

Room Tip: Pick any of the Three Cottages!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, VT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our first trip to the Outer Banks called for spending night number 1 at The Island Motel then four night in Buxton on Cape Hatteras one night in Okracoke then one night in Atlantic Beach. We arrived at RDU Sunday, Oct. 28th and drove to Manteo knowing the weather would worsen as we drove east with Sandy Sandy a few hundred miles off the coast. When we got to the visitors center just before Manteo it was closed the wind was amazing and rain was sideways. A watchman there told us the the next two days would be worst. We drove on to The Island Motel and they were ready for us. We took the upstairs King room and it was the perfect place to ride out the nights storm. The next day finding out that we would not get on the Outer Banks we drove south to Atlantic Beach to escape the storm. Thanks folks for being there!

Room Tip: Don't know about the motel but the upstairs room was excellent. We did drive bt the three cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lop Buri, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place has a good location at reasonable prices. We stayed for 2 nights in the motel (not private cottages which looked awesome!) and it was a good stay. The staff was nice and helpful and the place was all around very clean. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights in the Wright Cottage. It was clean and cute and close enough to the historic section that you could walk. Loved the rain shower.

We chose this hotel because it is pet friendly. This was really nice because we have an older dog we don't kennel. There was plenty of room to walk her.

My cousin was in the cottage next door and it was really cute as well. I think it was the Island Getaway. I would book this one next time only because the extra room would have been nice since it has a living room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you are looking for a place close to the beach in the Outer Banks and don't care how old and out of date a property is, you might like it here. There is no overnight availability of staff, no hotel phone in your room to call for help, etc. The air conditioning is a window unit that in my room blew mosquitoes and flies into the room all night. An employee of the place came to my door, unlocked it, and entered without knocking. The Tiki Bar is an empty bar with a sign over it that says, "Tiki Bar". You have to bring your own beverages and serve yourself. Why bother? WiFi connection for the room that I was in did not work. The bed spreads were old and stained. The night stand was so small I had to put my glasses on the other bed in the room. A small TV hangs off the wall. This was not a good experience.

Room Tip: The best advice I can give here is go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Guesthouse & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Guesthouse & Cottages

Address: 706 US Highway 64, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Guesthouse & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.