We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave it one more try but.............!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dare Haven Motel

Dare Haven Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dare Haven Motel
Save Saved
You added Dare Haven Motel to your Saves list
Rt. 64/264, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Gave it one more try but.............!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After checking the reviews, decided to give the old place one more chance. Love the location, great person at checking in, parking in front of the room was great, great outdoor sitting allowed for great fellowship and breathing in that OBX clean air. The room, however, was something to be desired....as soon as we walked in Room 17.........the musty smell and humidity would knock your socks off. A/C was cut on immediately and the windows opened. We contemplated on getting another room but.............heck fire, this was a fishing trip, and maybe by the time we got back the air would be better. After supper, the air was better but the musty smell hung around after we shut the windows. Checking around I found fresh paint over delaminated paneling in several places and could only surmise that the musty smell lurked behind. Linen were clean but after finding a small waterbug or roach bug crawling up the wall, made us check the mattress edges for possible surprises.........nothing found! Again, it was the cheapest place to lay our heads after a long day of fishing and the beds slept good but...........the musty smell was the biggest issue....and that definitely made Room 17 a bummer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This certainly is not a fancy motel, nor does it have many amenities, but if you are on a budget and simply looking for a clean place to rest your head the Dare Haven is for you! I had a great experience staying here with a friend. There was plenty of space for two (four would have been a little more cramped, but manageable) and everything was clean. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling in the area who is on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Best price we could find for an OBX hotel/motel. While a little dated, the room was clean, cozily decorated, with a small fridge, flat screen tv, and comfy rockers on the "porch". Park directly in front of your room. They were full up and turning folks away while we were there, so glad we booked in advance. Wifi worked. Several other guests had pets with them -- didn't cause any problems. There was a large group with children having a picnic in the grassy central area. Kids were a bit noisy and kicking a soccer ball around (which had me a little worried about the rental car), but no problems. Short drive to the Elizabethan gardens and the Aquarium. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground floor, around a central parking and picnic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area however most places were well over $100. We decided to search hotels in the surrounding areas and found reviews for this hotel. I called and was informed that rooms were available and the price was a little less than $100 so we decided to check it out. We stayed in a room with double beds. The room was clean, had a refrigerator, a good sized shower (no tub) and cool air. We actually found the place to be more than expected. We would definitely consider staying here again. Negatives would be no hair dryer, microwave or coffee pot in the room. Positives far outweigh these minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Close to everything and very clean. Half the price of other places in OBX. Park in front of your room and enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch. Quiet & a great place for couples without the noise of a pool or kid activities. The owners are super nice. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Four stars for what it is: a simple, comfortable, neat, clean older motel where you park in front of your room. Rocking chair, small fridge in the room. Flat screen tv. Very nice proprieter. Price is less than others in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a very friendly family-run motel with a folksy atmosphere. Even though it has a slightly run-down feeling it is clean and neat. We had been on the road for a week and needed a laundromat which the hotel staff pointed out not very far away. They also recommended an Italian restaurant (La Dolce Vita) across the street, which was part of a different hotel. We stayed in the Dare Haven Motel in order to be close to the outdoor drama "The Lost Colony." However, the area had horrendous thunder and lightning storms and the play was cancelled the evening we were there. Fortunately, we had bought cancellation insurance and were out only the $10 for the insurance, not the price of the tickets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dare Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Haven Motel

Address: Rt. 64/264, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo
Also Known As:
Dare Haven Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dare Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.