We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dare Haven Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dare Haven Motel
Rt. 64/264, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were looking for a place to stay in the Nags Head/Kill Devil Hills area however most places were well over $100. We decided to search hotels in the surrounding areas and found reviews for this hotel. I called and was informed that rooms were available and the price was a little less than $100 so we decided to check it out. We stayed in a room with double beds. The room was clean, had a refrigerator, a good sized shower (no tub) and cool air. We actually found the place to be more than expected. We would definitely consider staying here again. Negatives would be no hair dryer, microwave or coffee pot in the room. Positives far outweigh these minor drawbacks.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Close to everything and very clean. Half the price of other places in OBX. Park in front of your room and enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch. Quiet & a great place for couples without the noise of a pool or kid activities. The owners are super nice. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Four stars for what it is: a simple, comfortable, neat, clean older motel where you park in front of your room. Rocking chair, small fridge in the room. Flat screen tv. Very nice proprieter. Price is less than others in the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a very friendly family-run motel with a folksy atmosphere. Even though it has a slightly run-down feeling it is clean and neat. We had been on the road for a week and needed a laundromat which the hotel staff pointed out not very far away. They also recommended an Italian restaurant (La Dolce Vita) across the street, which was part of a different hotel. We stayed in the Dare Haven Motel in order to be close to the outdoor drama "The Lost Colony." However, the area had horrendous thunder and lightning storms and the play was cancelled the evening we were there. Fortunately, we had bought cancellation insurance and were out only the $10 for the insurance, not the price of the tickets.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Yes, this is a one star hotel. Yes, it is pet friendly with all of the issues you might imagine. However, if you are a dog lover, you live with these issues daily. The hotel is run by the granddaughter of the founder and she is a fantastic hostess! She went out of her way to attend to our every request. You can't beat this value for budget wise, pet loving travellers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for Valentines day weekend. We were very pleased with the renovated room that we got. The room was very comfortable with a flat screen t.v and decorated with beach decor. I found the room very clean and the staff very friendly. I also liked that we had an option of smoking or non smoking rooms. We also liked that the hotel was pet friendly as alot of hotels are not now. We will stay here again! Loved the price and love the location!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

after a harrowing experience, we hit the road, and couldn't find anything on a saturday night in the outer banks. with our dog, most spots were either gone, or over $200. we asked locals all kinds of questions, and thankfully some of the folks in corner stores, turned us on to this island, and a few suggestions. we saw this spot, and loved the name. We went for it. they take dogs, they even have a dog run, and the lady at the front desk, debbie? was over the top friendly. the room? quaint, clean, and a nice change of pace...

we can still hit the beach in the am, and she even suggested a nice spot where our pooch can run. free. this just fixed all the bad that was goin on with our bad luck of cheap hotel rooms. I could spend a summer here in this room, and eat at la dolce vita across the street.

of course, by the end of the summer? I'd have to go on a diet.

thank you dare haven motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dare Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dare Haven Motel

Also Known As:
Dare Haven Hotel Manteo
Dare Haven Hotel
Address: Rt. 64/264, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dare Haven Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dare Haven Motel to your Saves list