We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and quaint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cameron House Inn to your Saves list
Cameron House Inn
300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and quaint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We spent one night at The Cameron House when we needed a place to stay near Nags Head. We feel lucky to have found The Cameron House Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Manteo. It was convenient to walk to dinner and explore town. The inn was cozy and unique in decor. We stayed in the Kingfisher room and found it comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and very welcoming! Jennifer is a very good and creative cook! She makes a great chocolate cake and breakfast in the morning was way beyond typical B&B offerings. We would highly recommend a get away to The Cameron House Inn!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed one Friday night, August 2014, at the Cameron House Inn. We arrived shortly after 7pm, and we used the buzzer as directed, but Jennifer was still there (baking a cake) to let us in. After a quick tour, we were shown to the Kingfisher room. The room, and bathroom, were very comfortable and clean.

The inn is perfectly located so that you can easily walk (or bike) to everything in downtown Manteo. We can took advantage of MANY places, and upon our late return to the inn, we indulged in some very tasty cookies, drinks in the refrigerator, tea, and the previously mentioned cake. Breakfast was plentiful, and very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Absolutely brilliant, a home from home. Jennifer really made us welcome and her cooking was great. Thanks for a lovely stay. This was our last stop and two nights rest was just what we needed. Will definitely return. Terry & Julie Stanton

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years, and in several countries, and this is one of our favorites. Jennifer is an awesome cook, and hostess....did everything to make us feel at home. Manteo is a great place to stay, and venture off to OBX. Our room was wonderful, Kingfisher, and we only have regrets that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algoma, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our recent stay at the Cameron House Inn was everything you'd expect from a quality B&B.
a clean, comfortable room; great breakfast (and cookies); and friendly service and conversation from the inn keeper. When we get back to the Outer Banks, Cameron House will be our first choice for accommodations.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Sandpiper room which gave us two double beds and a quiet atmosphere away from the main house. The B and B was clean, well maintained, great bikes, and within a short walk to the main center of Manteo for shopping, entertainment, and dining. Jennifer, the inn keeper did an amazing job with breakfast. Items were homemade with the freshes ingredients, very filling. She attended to all our needs and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway this past weekend and had a wonderful time! The room we stayed in was lovely-very quaint and beautifully decorated. The innkeeper (Jennifer) was so very friendly and chatty and gave great advice on things to do and places to eat. Jen had amazing breakfasts prepared every morning, freshly homemade and different every morning. I would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: This is an older house so it echoes quite a bit so I would recommend a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Inn

Address: 300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameron House Inn is a beautiful Manteo, NC inn nestled in the heart of Roanoke Island. Near Nags Head, Cape Hatteras and famous Outer Banks lighthouses, it is the ideal accommodation location for exploring the Outer Banks, the Roanoke Island attractions and enjoying the shops, restaurants and activities of Manteo. Cameron House Inn offers six guest rooms, all individually and beautifully designed. The overall style of the inn is Arts and Crafts, and the rooms reflect that look. Special amenities give each one its own appeal. Relax in a rocking chair by the outdoor fireplace and let the quaint, peaceful spirit of small–town Manteo carry you back to a simpler time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cameron House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.