We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cameron House Inn to your Saves list
Cameron House Inn
300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Algoma, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You've got to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our recent stay at the Cameron House Inn was everything you'd expect from a quality B&B.
a clean, comfortable room; great breakfast (and cookies); and friendly service and conversation from the inn keeper. When we get back to the Outer Banks, Cameron House will be our first choice for accommodations.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
42
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed two nights in the Sandpiper room which gave us two double beds and a quiet atmosphere away from the main house. The B and B was clean, well maintained, great bikes, and within a short walk to the main center of Manteo for shopping, entertainment, and dining. Jennifer, the inn keeper did an amazing job with breakfast. Items were homemade with the freshes ingredients, very filling. She attended to all our needs and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend getaway this past weekend and had a wonderful time! The room we stayed in was lovely-very quaint and beautifully decorated. The innkeeper (Jennifer) was so very friendly and chatty and gave great advice on things to do and places to eat. Jen had amazing breakfasts prepared every morning, freshly homemade and different every morning. I would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: This is an older house so it echoes quite a bit so I would recommend a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Mirabella room, which is the largest and prettiest room in my opinion (although all look great!)...could not have been happier! There are always yummy treats in the kitchen, and a delicious hot breakfast in the morning. The hosts have lived in Manteo for years and have wonderful advice as to where to go and what to do. It's a short 2-3 minute walk into town where there are several restaurants, shops/boutiques, and a harbor where you can rent kayaks or paddle boards, or can go out on of the guided boat cruises...many dolphin in the area. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac Falls, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed one night and loved it. The rooms were quaint and the atmosphere inviting. The innkeeper had cookies available and the evening she brought over a homemade apple pie with salted Carmel. She also had ice cream for the pie. Too tempting not to try since it was fresh out of the oven. The next morning she asked what time we would like breakfast and gave us our choice. She served fresh fruit along with English muffins with sausage and egg. The inn is within walking distance of historic Manteo and easy parking. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Feather stone with fireplace - didn't use fireplace since we were there in July. Queensize bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kershaw, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed one night at the Cameron House Inn. Beautiful house, nice, big room. Delicious breakfast. She had self serve coffee ready around 7:30 am. Breakfast at 8ish to 9 or 9:30.
Since I mentioned that I was gluten intolerant, we had huevos rancheros for breakfast! It was wonderful. A couple we were chatting with said they'd never had that for breakfast but they loved it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised from the moment we arrived (which was late at night). We did not mind the door unlocked or our key left for us (unlike another reviewer). We were given instructions and told to call with any trouble. We felt right at home and very safe and comfortable. Our stay in the Avocet was wonderful, especially with the beautiful tub! Jennifer is so friendly and an amazing cook! We took the Inn's beach cruisers and biked all over Roanoke Island, to Festival Park and The Elizabethan Gardens! Had such a wonderful experience, we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cameron House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron House Inn

Address: 300 Budleigh Street, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cameron House Inn is a beautiful Manteo, NC inn nestled in the heart of Roanoke Island. Near Nags Head, Cape Hatteras and famous Outer Banks lighthouses, it is the ideal accommodation location for exploring the Outer Banks, the Roanoke Island attractions and enjoying the shops, restaurants and activities of Manteo. Cameron House Inn offers six guest rooms, all individually and beautifully designed. The overall style of the inn is Arts and Crafts, and the rooms reflect that look. Special amenities give each one its own appeal. Relax in a rocking chair by the outdoor fireplace and let the quaint, peaceful spirit of small–town Manteo carry you back to a simpler time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cameron House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron House Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.