We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Friendly Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darrell's Restaurant

Darrell's Restaurant
521 Hwy 64/264, Manteo, NC 27954
252 473 5366
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Manteo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Darrell’s is a family-style seafood restaurant that’s been a favorite on Roanoke Island since 1960. Seafood is the definite specialty; the fried oysters are widely touted as the best anywhere, served with the traditional fixings of cole slaw, french fries and hush puppies. Locals know that Darrell’s does seafood right. Land food, children’s fare and light eaters’ dishes are also available. Darrell’s is now serving the best BBQ and BBQ Ribs fresh off an all narural wood fired smoker. Helpings are heaping and desserts are delicious, if you have room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served Monday-Saturday and breakfast and lunch on Sunday’s.
Mokena, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The food at Darrel's was very good. Portions were very large. We could easily have ordered one less entree and no one would have left hungry.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    54
    20
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the better diners in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Darrell's is tucked away off 64 in Manteo. We decided to try it after a terrible experience at Mulligan's in Nag's Head.

The exterior is unassuming and parking can be a bit tight. Probably didn't help that some guy parked his monster King Ranch Ford F-350 at the entrance to the back lot.

My wife ordered broiled flounder and I ordered broiled catfish. Both were served right on the broiling plate, perfectly-cooked, and didn't come swimming in butter/oil like they do at many restaurants. The flounder tasted fresh and briny, the catfish was delicate and flaky.

The sides were below average. The hushpuppies had good flavor but were very dry. The green beans were standard southern diner style. The "pickled beets" are clearly from a can and not made in-house.

On a positive note, the staff are very friendly and attentive. They know the regulars by name along with their orders. The manager saw someone bump our car in the parking lot (very lightly, no damage at all) and was thoughtful enough to photograph their license plate and find us to let us know since they drove away.

Overall Darrell's is decent compared to a lot of local places in the Outer Banks. There are very few "great" restaurants there. The prices are a bit high but I would go back for dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilot Mountain, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Darrell's Restaurant - Manteo, NC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Darrell's restaurant in Manteo, NC, is an excellent choice, if you are looking for delicious food at a reasonable price. Our first experience was so good we returned to try other items on the menu and were not disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Two breakfasts & one supper.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Darrell's is located across the from the Scarborogh Inn on Highway 64. For first breakfast were two Blueberry Hot Cakes, with cinnamon favored aples. Very good. Second breakfast was Country Ham & two scrambled eggs. The ham was a bit to salty for my taste. When I mentioned this to the waitress, I was told the ham is always on the saslty side., however the entire meal was filling. For supper was a Seafood PLatter of fried combinations of oysters, shrimp, scallops & fish of the day, all hand breasded. THe arrival time of the platter weass a bit slow, but well worth the wait and enough for a second meal.

Al staff members were friendly & quick to ask if I needed any more service. Darrell's has two serving areas. One is booths, probably for breakfast. The second is the Seaside Room, which is a combination of booths & tables.If staying at the Scarborogh Inn in the future, I would stop again at Darrell's.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSPORT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Family Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

As it turned out we ate dinner 2X here during this stay. It was off season for the area and our choices were somewhat restricted. Their seafood was excellent. And they introduced me to just how good fried oysters can be. And their sautéed shrimp dishes and crab cakes were also very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrell's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Darrell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darrell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.