We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always have good food here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darrell's Restaurant

Darrell's Restaurant
521 Hwy 64/264, Manteo, NC 27954
252 473 5366
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 30 Restaurants in Manteo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: Darrell’s is a family-style seafood restaurant that’s been a favorite on Roanoke Island since 1960. Seafood is the definite specialty; the fried oysters are widely touted as the best anywhere, served with the traditional fixings of cole slaw, french fries and hush puppies. Locals know that Darrell’s does seafood right. Land food, children’s fare and light eaters’ dishes are also available. Darrell’s is now serving the best BBQ and BBQ Ribs fresh off an all narural wood fired smoker. Helpings are heaping and desserts are delicious, if you have room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served Monday-Saturday and breakfast and lunch on Sunday’s.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always have good food here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We go here for lunch whenevr we visit the Outer Banks. They have great seafood. The fried oysters aee excellent, as is the fried flounder. We've also had the BBQ, cheeseburgers and ribs. This particular visit we all had the fried oyster lunch. The oysters are small, which is what I prefer. The amount of breading is great, not too much and not too little. I also love the hushpuppies at Darrell's. Even though our lunches came with two hushpuppies we still ordered an extra half dozen to share at the table. Good comfort food, friendly service and reasonable prices.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    54
    20
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
miami, fl
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It is possible to mess up grits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stopped in to have their version of NC pulled pork, sampled it before and it was interesting. Unfortunately, we were 20 minutes to early to order lunch, seems that rule didn't apply to the diners that were seated 3 minutes after us, so I ordered breakfast. I've never seen anybody mess up egg or grits......so my hat goes off to the cook.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good, family restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Great dinner choices. I got the broiled seafood platter and my husband had tuna. Both were excellent choices. Their Hatteras chowder was very good and the onion rings were the best. All the wait staff was very attentive - great dining experience.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I went to the outer banks to partake in amazing seafood. couldn't enjoy it hear as mostly everything is friend. My sister did have the pulled pork and that was killer and we know our Carolina BBQ! So i suggest that!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“expensive and over rated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

we are locals and the restaurant has completely gone down. My family and I stopped for lunch and we were finally greeted by a very rude woman who didnt acknowledge us when entering. the food was over priced and the atmosphere was AWFUL! Our fried food was cold and our drinks were never refilled. When we went to pay, we were not thanked nor asked to come again. horrible experience.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darrell's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Darrell's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darrell's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.