We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Easter Weekend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible Easter Weekend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We go to the outer banks every easter and this was the first bad experience. I found this hotel online and liked what I saw. The age and layout were nice. This is the type of hotel we normally like a little elderly and interesting. The problem wasn't the room but the assistant manager, the hotel was undergoing major renovations which was unavoidable but we were placed in a room just below a major renovation . It was pouring with rain so we bought lunch and went back to the hotel to watch t.v. and take a nap. When we entered the room the noise of the work upstairs was so loud it made it impossible to nap or watch t.v. or even talk to each other. My husband approached the sweet elderly lady at the desk, she called the Assistant Manager who informed us that she had posted an 81/2 x 11inch sign apologizing for the dust and noise. This sign was taped up at the hotel, no warning of it on the site we booked with. A little noise would have been fine, this was unbearable, my husband pointed out that if we were making this amount of noise next to other guests we would be asked to leave.. He suggested a move us or give us a discount, her response was we should go out for an hour in the rain till the work was completed. The work went on for three hours and I approached the Assistant manager. She was extremely rude and when I said it was impossible to stay in the room she asked what was impossible about it, she said that they had decided not to do this at night when people were sleeping. This was a Saturday afternoon the rates weren't cheap to begin with and we had a miserable time, with the noise and the animosity of the assistant manager. We also had trouble with the coffe maker which was broken and sprayed boiling water at us (room 507) We have never written a bad review of anything but felt compelled to write this as the management gave us no choice, and no options except that we should leave the room we paid for so they could continue their renovations in peace. An apology or an acknowledgement that this was a problem would have made all the difference. Total lack of customer service from the assistand manager. This wasn't up to the standard of a motel 8.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    19
    31
    30
See reviews for
52
47
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I know this place has been around since the 70's, so when everything else on the beach was booked, I had no choice. I was actually pleasantly surprised. Nice big new bed, good water pressure in the shower, nice flat screen tv, internet access, large room with a sitting area, all was above average. I have stayed at a lot of below average motels on the outer banks, and honestly, for your money its worth the 10 minute drive away from the beach. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Elizabethan Inn! Manteo has a charm all its own, and has a lot to offer whether you are vacationing for a week or a weekend. And, as you discovered, just because a hotel isn't new doesn't mean it can't be clean and comfortable. That is why we have guests who initially came here as children returning with their own children to continue the family tradition. Thanks again for your kind review. We look forward to having you back with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Cozy and convienient. Friendly staff and all you need for a relaxing stay. They went out of their way to accomodate us with late arrival. We were there to repair an EMS helicopter that was out of service due to the bridge crisis. We were able to fix the helicopter in our first day there and then get some much needed sleep. Suriksha, the assistant manager was wonderful and did her best to make sure we could get our work completed so Dare County could protect their citizens with their BK117 EMS helicopter.

Thank you Suriksha (Ricki)
Dave Vogel Product Support American Eurocopter Corporation

Room Tip: Room service and the spa were not used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We are very fortunate to have Suriksha with us. She makes sure everyone is comfortable and happy. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this inn for 4 nights while attending a wedding in Manteo, NC. Surishka and Virginia at the front desk were helpful and warm. We settled into our cozy, clean room, which was perfect for a launching point to explore Manteo Island, the Outer Banks and vicinity. We hang glided at Jockey's Ridge, walked the beach at Jeannette's Pier, drove through Cape Hatteras National Seashore, dropped by Duck, dined at Tortuga's Lie in Nags Head and at the 1587 in Manteo. Everything was a short drive away. Manteo Island itself is worth exploring, walking the boardwalk in downtown, catching the sunset over the bay, enjoying the ambiance of a small waterfront community. And the Lost Colony and Elizabethan Gardens are nearby! Book it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your high praise of our hotel! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was certainly a great pleasure having you as our guest. We are amazed that you manage to pack so many things into 4 days and go to the wedding too. We miss your bubbly personality already and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebony, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We made reservations sight unseen to attend a wedding. After driving all day, we just wanted to check in, get cleaned up and go to the wedding. The room was better suited for the red light district as the colors were putrid. The bathroom was cramped, Everything, including the TV was old. it was not a flat screen but a tube type. The big surprise came when i went to use the shower. It was a tub/shower and the shower diverter was stuck on shower. Not so bad for me but not so good for the wife who uses the bathtub. It was $80.00 per night which for what we had was a rip off. I would have rather slept in my car. I said something to the lady at the front desk (who was very understanding) and she told me the place was supposed to get renovated. Not a day too soon! Right now, the place is a Dump! Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pounding Mill, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

These people were so friendly and professional. Thank you!! Your restaurant was excellent. We will be back. Miss Virginia was a hoot! For an older hotel, it was clean, and everything worked in the room. The location was great also, convenient to everything. Feel comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for giving our hotel a 5 Star Rating! I'm glad that we were able to meet your needs here at the Elizabethan Inn. I have passed along your compliments to the staff. They enjoy their work and it shows! We are looking forward to having you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The inn is a very well maintained property, despite its age. Landscaping is very well done. The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable. Refrigerators in the room is a nice touch. It has a nice exercise room, and both indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. The attached restaurant has delicious, well-prepared food at a reasonable price. I recommend this motel for anyone staying in the area.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms has parking right in front of your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for you comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.