We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home a way from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Save Saved
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Horse Shoe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Home a way from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Suriksha and Virginia were extremely nice and friendly to me and really made me feel at home. The room was very nice, large, and clean. Two very large and nice Pools, one indoors. It is an ideal location to tour the whole Outer Banks region.
My stay there was one of my best ever at a travel spot!
I highly recommend it.
Jim Bolin
Horse Shoe
North Carolina

Room Tip: Corner room at back of the property Large and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Elizabethan Inn. Suriksha and Virginia thoroughly enjoyed having you and your family here and considered you a part of OUR family. Your visit really made their day! We hope you will come back again soon and hopefully stay longer next time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    13
    26
    27
See reviews for
45
34
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here one night on July 10. The staff members at this hotel were very friendly! Despite the power going off on the whole island and the majority of Dare County, we enjoyed ourselves. We were here to see the play, which was unfortunately canceled due to the power outage. We booked the apartment, located in the far back section of the complex, as it is separated into three(?) different buildings, if I remember correctly. It was a nice stay, the apartment came with a 2-burner(?) electric stove/oven, coffee pot, refrigerator, microwave and dishes galore (including pots and pans). Two queen size beds, futon, desk and chair. The hotel also had a restaurant attached to the main building, the menu looked great, that's all I can say as the power outage pretty much prevented us from going. The only thing I can say critically about this hotel is that some updating would be great for a totally awesome five star experience. The carpet and the bathroom in the apartment, for example. I'm not saying it was dirty, it just could use some remodeling, give it a face-lift add new carpeting and make new bathroom fixtures high efficiency, don't be afraid to get fancy! The hotel is charming otherwise. Nothing was dirty! Very clean! I left smiling.

Room Tip: Apartments are a quaint cottage type. You might have neighbors next door, I can't attest to any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your great review! You certainly made us all smile! Power outages here are extremely rare, fortunately, and we are happy you didn't let it spoil your trip. We are glad you enjoyed the efficiency. We are constantly updating and replacing as much as possible and will keep your comments in mind when we are ready to work on the Manor Building.We hope you will come to visit us again soon. Hopefully, you will have a chance to experience everything Manteo and the Elizabethan Inn have to offer. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is a treat in itself but staying there over the 4th of July in Manteo really made the experience special. Clean large rooms with an indoor health club with a really large pool. Also an outdoor pool that was nice when the wind and sand got to be too much for the kids at the beach. Manteo has so much for the kids and us(large aquarium, Lost Colony, etc.) and the hotel was conveniently close to all. Downtown Manteo had wonderful fireworks that you watch while setting on the docks and watching them go off over a replica of an 18th century sailing ship(Elizabeth II). They had bands that were kid friendly and a bunch of holiday activities, like a hilarious and patriotic local parade. The staff at the Inn were great as was the food at all the local restaurants. Were coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks so much for your nice review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We agree with you that Manteo is a fun place with a lot to offer. The next time you come to visit, be sure to check out the Elizabethan Gardens, Festival Park with its Indian village and settlement, the Island Farm and Fort Raleigh as well as the places you mentioned. Things are constantly changing on Roanoke Island so there is always something new to see and do. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Accommodations in the tiny and historic town of Manteo, NC are dear. The Elizabethan Inn played to the town's exotic history as the location of Sir Walter Raleigh's Lost Colony and cleverly made a modest and run-down motel look Elizabethan with a period facade and some pretty light fixtures. Our room was clean and spacious, and our stay would have been comfortable, had we not been paying $200 a night.

The Elizabethan Inn is an okay motel and a poor value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you found your room clean and spacious. We are also glad you enjoyed our decor, location and that you slept well. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you in our most expensive room on the busiest weekend of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We do not recommend this place. The sheets had faded brown stains on it. The place was musty and outdated. The lights are dim in the rooms. It's expensive ($200/night with tax) and not worth it at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are sorry you were not happy with your room. Had you let us know, we would have gladly moved you to a different room. However, you never let us know there were any problems. To address the issues you mentioned: There are no "brown stains" on our sheets. What you saw was a "watermark" with the design of an eagle. It is white on white, and only shows if the sheet if viewed at a certain angle. We are planning to replace these to prevent misunderstandings in the future. As to light, your room not only faced the morning sun, but had several lamps along with the regular lighting fixtures. Had you needed more light than this, we would gladly have supplied you with more lamps. As has been mentioned in the past, we feel that the color of the walls is what gives some people the impression of gloominess, and plans are made to repaint them a lighter color. We appreciate your comments and hope you will give us another try in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This inn is actually very motel-ish. You can see the pictures for yourself. The place isn't even that close to the beach, and you're still charged $180 a night. One of our lights didn't work, the carpet was worn down, and the water from the shower/tub has a strange green tint to it. In addition, the wall mounted AC units pump in cold humid air from the outside. You will leave the room feeling soggier than if you were outside. From a value standpoint, this is the worst I've ever had.

To make things worse, the front desk called our room at 9:45pm to tell us that someone left a bag for us and that we could pick it up the next morning when we check out. Why call if that's the case? This typically wouldn't be a big issue for us, but we have an 8 month old that's impossible to put to bed, and their stupid phone call woke her up. If you're a parent, you know how infuriating this would be. Absolutely thoughtless. Did they not remember or check to see that we had an infant in the room?

At least the bed worked and the sheets were clean. If it weren't for that, this place would have scored a 1 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is our aim to please everyone and we are sorry that you were not happy here. Our hotel is located on Roanoke Island. That is why you were able to get a room for $180 instead of the $249 to $360 the motels on the beach were charging 4th of July weekend. If you had let us know about the light, we would have fixed it promptly. Our water supply is routinely inspected and tested, so "green" water would not have occurred and none was found. Your carpet was a little worn near the door, but because you had a dog, you were in a pet room, and not everyone is careful with their pet's behavior. Carpets in pet rooms get worn quickly.
The clerk had tried to call your room all evening but never got an answer until the bride came by with a second gift for you and she called your room while the bride was at the desk. The clerk had no way of knowing you had an "impossible to put to bed infant? Your reservation said you had one child, but no mention was made of age or special circumstances. In the future you might inform the front desk that no calls are to be put through to your room after a certain hour. They will certainly accommodate your requests if made aware of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stumbled upon the Elizabethan Inn and stopped because we were tired of a long day of driving. From the moment we entered the hotel until we left, I could not have asked for anything more! The staff were extremely helpful with recommendations for site-seeing and places to eat. And the pool is unbelievable!!!!! What a nice treat to take a swim after a long day! And we ended up staying two days instead of just overnight. If I am ever in the area again, I would definitely stay here! Also the attached restaurant was exceptional traditional Italian food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We work hard to try to give our guests a memorable experience and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.