We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's in a name?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Save Saved
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elizabethan Inn
814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo
Huntersville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What's in a name?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Accommodations in the tiny and historic town of Manteo, NC are dear. The Elizabethan Inn played to the town's exotic history as the location of Sir Walter Raleigh's Lost Colony and cleverly made a modest and run-down motel look Elizabethan with a period facade and some pretty light fixtures. Our room was clean and spacious, and our stay would have been comfortable, had we not been paying $200 a night.

The Elizabethan Inn is an okay motel and a poor value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are glad you found your room clean and spacious. We are also glad you enjoyed our decor, location and that you slept well. We are happy that we were able to accommodate you in our most expensive room on the busiest weekend of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    13
    25
    25
See reviews for
44
33
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We do not recommend this place. The sheets had faded brown stains on it. The place was musty and outdated. The lights are dim in the rooms. It's expensive ($200/night with tax) and not worth it at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We are sorry you were not happy with your room. Had you let us know, we would have gladly moved you to a different room. However, you never let us know there were any problems. To address the issues you mentioned: There are no "brown stains" on our sheets. What you saw was a "watermark" with the design of an eagle. It is white on white, and only shows if the sheet if viewed at a certain angle. We are planning to replace these to prevent misunderstandings in the future. As to light, your room not only faced the morning sun, but had several lamps along with the regular lighting fixtures. Had you needed more light than this, we would gladly have supplied you with more lamps. As has been mentioned in the past, we feel that the color of the walls is what gives some people the impression of gloominess, and plans are made to repaint them a lighter color. We appreciate your comments and hope you will give us another try in the future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This inn is actually very motel-ish. You can see the pictures for yourself. The place isn't even that close to the beach, and you're still charged $180 a night. One of our lights didn't work, the carpet was worn down, and the water from the shower/tub has a strange green tint to it. In addition, the wall mounted AC units pump in cold humid air from the outside. You will leave the room feeling soggier than if you were outside. From a value standpoint, this is the worst I've ever had.

To make things worse, the front desk called our room at 9:45pm to tell us that someone left a bag for us and that we could pick it up the next morning when we check out. Why call if that's the case? This typically wouldn't be a big issue for us, but we have an 8 month old that's impossible to put to bed, and their stupid phone call woke her up. If you're a parent, you know how infuriating this would be. Absolutely thoughtless. Did they not remember or check to see that we had an infant in the room?

At least the bed worked and the sheets were clean. If it weren't for that, this place would have scored a 1 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
It is our aim to please everyone and we are sorry that you were not happy here. Our hotel is located on Roanoke Island. That is why you were able to get a room for $180 instead of the $249 to $360 the motels on the beach were charging 4th of July weekend. If you had let us know about the light, we would have fixed it promptly. Our water supply is routinely inspected and tested, so "green" water would not have occurred and none was found. Your carpet was a little worn near the door, but because you had a dog, you were in a pet room, and not everyone is careful with their pet's behavior. Carpets in pet rooms get worn quickly.
The clerk had tried to call your room all evening but never got an answer until the bride came by with a second gift for you and she called your room while the bride was at the desk. The clerk had no way of knowing you had an "impossible to put to bed infant? Your reservation said you had one child, but no mention was made of age or special circumstances. In the future you might inform the front desk that no calls are to be put through to your room after a certain hour. They will certainly accommodate your requests if made aware of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stumbled upon the Elizabethan Inn and stopped because we were tired of a long day of driving. From the moment we entered the hotel until we left, I could not have asked for anything more! The staff were extremely helpful with recommendations for site-seeing and places to eat. And the pool is unbelievable!!!!! What a nice treat to take a swim after a long day! And we ended up staying two days instead of just overnight. If I am ever in the area again, I would definitely stay here! Also the attached restaurant was exceptional traditional Italian food.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We work hard to try to give our guests a memorable experience and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice staff but rooms had a musty smell and bathrooms were dirty very dirty. Would have stayed somewhere else but no one would take dogs. We will not recommend anyone stay there.
The room was very old and needed work. Looks and smelled like hotel was flooded at some time. Nasty place

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and for saying our employees are very nice.
The air conditioner in your room went out the day you arrived and a new one was immediately installed. You were asked at that time by a member of management if everything was OK, and was told everything was fine. The next day you spoke to the Assistant manager, who also asked if everything was OK, since we always want our guests to be happy. Again, there were no complaints. She was told everything was just fine.
We will quickly resolve any problems of which we are aware, as we did with the air-conditioner. But to be told repeatedly that everything is fine, then to receive this review was disappointing to say the least. The bathrooms were inspected, and were found to be clean. Your room had just recently been thoroughly cleaned, repaired and the carpet replaced. It is a "pet" room and not all guests are as careful with their pets behavior as you are.The hotel has NEVER been flooded. In fact, it is on the 2nd highest ground in Manteo and is a safe haven for locals during hurricanes. "The hotel is old." I'm afraid there is nothing we can do short of building a new hotel which isn't currently in the plans. We appreciate your comments, but would prefer our guests were honest with us while they are here rather than writing "nasty" reviews as soon as they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohrsville PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our stay at Elizabethan Inn was great, the staff was helpful and courteous, We were in the a room with one king size bed, the room was nice and clean, one draw back in order to close the
door in the bathroom you have to lift both lids on the toilet. This was hilarious. The pools were great. The indoor pool water was cold, and the pool outside water was warm. There was plenty of places to see and do. The beach was nice, would have loved to stay on the beach another day. Went to Ocracoke Island, places around Manteo Island, then the day before we left we went up route 12 to Corolla visited the places up there and did the horse tour. Would recommend the horse tour.(Corolla Tours next to the post office) Rick and his wife were great. The weather was great. The day's we were there was 06/08/13-06/12/13. Thank you again we will be back. hopefully for longer, and to stay on the beach longer. hopefully we could find the spa next time.
Al & Debbie
Mohrsville PA

Room Tip: plan on staying longer to see more places, and things to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can stay longer on your next trip and take advantage of everything we have to offer. Our Nautics Hall offers a hot tub, sauna, weight/workout room and the biggest pool on the Outer Banks! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I spend a good amount of time in the Outer Banks throughout the year for work and pleasure. I have stayed at this hotel on and off. Most recently I stayed there this week, it is in a great location on Manteo and an easy drive to all the local sites and attractions. As usually the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.