We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little old fashioned and really clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little old fashioned and really clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Remember when you parked your car in front of your motel room and unloaded into an immaculate efficiency apartment? The Elizabethan Inn is located in a lovely Manteo neighborhood, minutes from Outer Banks attractions, excellent restaurants, and the weekly farmers market. We really enjoyed our stay. The room, bathroom, and kitchen were spotless. Our only complaint was the plastic liner on the bed. This is common in all of the Outer Bank facilities; but, we did not like the noise it made when we rolled around while sleeping. Still, the beds were comfortable, the room was dark when the shades were drawn, and the Italian restaurant on site was FABULOUS!

Room Tip: If you want to party, ask to be next to the partiers. If you want quiet, tell them you need a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for your beautifully worded comments! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can stay longer on your next trip. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    17
    27
    28
See reviews for
46
37
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hotel location was superb for visiting the attractions of Roanoke and a good base for the northern OBX. Room rates are affordable the staff friendly and helpful. When I reported a dripping faucet, the maintenance guy was there to fix it in under five minutes. Our room was clean, albeit small. but as other reviewers have mentioned, dark and gloomy. This is not a problem if you are out for most of the day though.

I would have preferred a room with an internal door and like all ground floor rooms we suffered from (no doubt unintentional) noisy occupants above us.

Certainly room for improvement, but overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms, especially those with outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the rooms being dark. We feel the "dark sand" walls, even though recently painted, are what gives the impression of gloominess and have made plans to paint them a lighter color. We have both interior and exterior entry rooms. Feel free to request an interior room on a higher floor the next time you visit us, and if we can, we certainly will honor your wishes. We want our guests to be happy! Thanks again for your comments. We look forward to having you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Friendly accommodating staff, but rooms are dated. Our bed was comfortable although the plastic mattress covering that could be felt through the sheets and pad. It made for a slippery sleep experience. Staff was helpful in resolving issues - turned on refrigerator and found plug for lamp. We didn't use indoor pool or exercise room, but they would be a plus. We chose this place because one in our party needed accessible room, which wasn't available in more picturesque places.

Reasonable price, within walking distance of old town and waterfront, but I'd look to stay in B&B or small hotel in old town on my next visit.

Room Tip: get a room in main building but away from highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you found our staff friendly and accommodating. We have rooms that have interior entries and exterior entries in order to accommodate everyone no matter what their preference.We are sorry you found the mattress covers inconvenient but they are for your protection. Thanks again for your kind words. We hope you will try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at a few places in Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills and Manteo, and found the staff at the Elizabethan Inn very friendly and extremely accommodating. The rooms were nicely appointed, and the fitness center and indoor pool offer relaxation between activities and during inclement weather.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hearing from our happy guests really makes our day! We hope you can come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Used to be "The Place" when our children were small. Through the years quality went down, rates went up during several change of owners. Decided to give the "old place" another chance. Made a good decision. Virginia, desk clerk, extremely accomodating....big plus. Room rate much cheaper than beach motels......another big plus for us seniors. Room 540 was our choice, away from weight room and close to exits. Room was great...lots of space, two queen beds.... very comfortable...... QUIET. No musty smell as reported by others. Plenty of hot water for showers. Large indoor pool was clean. Lounge chairs were provided outside pool area on outdoor patio......very relaxing on the warm spring day we were there. Hopefully these owners can "stay the course" on quality and still keep the rates down for seniors.

Room Tip: Experience from previous visits............don't get a room near the weight room (weight lifters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for giving the Elizabethan Inn a try under the current ownership. We work hard to make all of our guests happy and satisfied and we are glad that you are pleased with our efforts. Rest assured, we are always updating and improving our hotel and will continue to do so. Thanks for your kind words! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had pleasant stay but Motel is old and outdated, Rooms were ample and clean, a slight hint of "must" in the room, beds were acceptable for my back issues. No breakfast and being on end of Island it is a ways to go for eating when traffic is heavy, ask for rooms in the rear to take road noise away.. Would look for another hotel on Manteo next trip.
Daveg

Room Tip: Look before paying in this area. We looked at some nearby that were terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We offer a choice of four different buildings and only 6 of our rooms actually face the street, so you have a variety of choices. I'm sorry our restaurant does not offer breakfast at this time. They has a breakfast buffet when they first opened, but did not have enough local interest to make it worthwhile. We can recommend T L's which is only one and a half miles or Darrell's which is only a mile from the hotel. We are concerned about what you consider "old and outdated" about our hotel and would appreciate some more-detailed feedback. Thank you again. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Cute from the outside with lots of potential, but old and not especially clean on the inside. My family and I had a Sunday check in for our rental house, but wanted to use the whole weekend. We decided to stay here so we could do all the Roanoke activities the first two days of our trip.

Pros- close to all Roanoke activities
- very nice and helpful desk staff
- outside room entrances made coming and going a breeze

Cons- dark rooms. Even with all the lights on and windows uncovered. Low wattage fixtures and dark furnishings.
- desperately needs an update. The handyman work is shoddy at best.
-bathroom not as clean as you would hope for a hotel.
-they must leave the ACs off in between guests. Makes the rooms smell mildewy and the rooms heat up to unbearable pretty quickly. We were there during the terrible heat warnings, so we couldn't even unwind after our 8 hours on the road. We had to go get ice cream instead (terrible, right?)
- bed was at most a full size. And the springs (or whatever) were so squished on one side it made for precarious sleeping arrangements.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
All of our beds are queens or kings. We do not have "full size" beds anywhere in this hotel. They all have NEW Serta or equivalent mattresses and box springs, so we know that there are no "springs that are squished on one side". Our housekeepers are the best on the Outer Banks! Your profile shows this is the only review you have done, and yet you wait nearly a year after your "stay" and then give us a poor review. This appears very suspicious to us. Did you even stay here? If you did, please contact us and tell us which room you stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.