We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

When my mom saw it on their website it looked great. When we went to our room it looked terrible. It was dark, smokey musty and didn't look like it was cleaned. When my mom went to tell the staff that we won't be staying and wanted a refund; it took forever and it sounded like they weren't very friendly with her either. I am sure it is a good hotel for some but for us it was terrible.

Stayed August 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Amy, Let's address your comments one by one: You said the room was "dark, smokey and musty".
There are several lamps besides normal lighting fixtures in each room, so no reason for it to be dark unless you arrive after dark and don't turn on the lights.
In August, all of our rooms are occupied every night. They have no chance to get "musty". If a room was "musty", we would not rent it. We would correct the problem.
We have smoking and non-smoking rooms and our smoking policy is strickly enforced. If someone should smoke in a non-smoking room, which does happen, but only rarely, we would strip the room of all materials, bedding, drapery, etc and thoroughly clean it. If necessary, we will wash the walls and shampoo the carpet. One thing I can promise you is the next person who walks into that room will NOT know it has ever been smoked in.
We do not rent rooms that are not clean!
Even though each guest signs a statement at checkin aknowledging that there are no refunds for early departures; if a guest gets to their room and that, nor any other room we have will satisfy them, we would give them their money back. We want only happy customers.
Now for the things you did not say: When in August were you here? Which room? Which building? Who was at the front desk that you say was not friendly?
MY questions are:
Why are you writing a review of our motel when you say you did not stay here?
And why are you doing it 4 months after you say you were here. Obviously you do not have all your facts :"it sounded like they weren't very friendly." Were you there?. I suggest you do your homework before you set out to criticize someone, particularly where everyone can read it, AND where it may cost us future business.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    18
    29
    28
See reviews for
47
42
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

When we were in Manteo for work at the Stumpy Point Emergency Ferry Route, I was provided a room at the Elizabethan Inn. I have lived on the Outer Banks for nearly 20 years, so I never have stayed in many motels around, but have in other places for travel. The room was very clean and the housekeeping service was excellent daily. The bed was comfortable, the desk made it easy for me to complete work from the day when I returned. The front desk staff were very friendly and helped with any problems promptly (which there were none!) The restaurant's food was as delicous as it smelled. I am glad our accomodations were here and would definately recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. Your entire group became a part of our family and we miss you! You are welcome back at any time. Maybe next time you won't have to work! Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by our Pet Friendly room this year. They have Pet Friendly rooms that are not smoking!

Last year when we stayed at this hotel we left smelling like smoke. I think the dog even smelled like smoke! I have to hand it to the management team because they listened to my complaint last year and they now have non-smoking rooms for pet owners.

Dear Elizabethan Inn management team....thank you so much! Our stay this year was much more relaxing! It is not often that hotel management listens to their guests!

Thank You!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
It was good to see you again, and we are glad you were happy with your room. Are you aware that your complaint last year made life better for a lot of other people as well? A number of people traveling with their pets have enjoyed having a non-smoking room. When we know there is a problem, we will do everything we can to correct it. Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to seeing you again for next years marathon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitol Heights, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

First of all, the hotel is old and smelly. An old, smelly mildew smell. Quite run down. I was grossed out to take a shower and to put my feet on the ground. The dark-haired lady at the desk was not accommodating. Never again, nor should anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Your review was very vague. You said our motel was "old and smelly". Yet you do not say what specifically you had a problem with; the room? the lobby? the parking lot?. There are no showers where you step "onto the ground".You also say the "dark-haired lady was not accomodating". Here again, you were very vague. What was the problem? We have not had any reports of problems nor any complaints. We could find no records of anyone with a Maryland address that stayed the days you say you stayed. Are you sure you have the right motel? We work hard to please our guests, and try to correct problems as soon as they arrise. But we can not correct problems we are unaware of.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at the Inn while helping out with Hurricane Sandy. The staff were super helpful, and went out of their way to help when I got stuck on the ferry from Hatteras. The bed was super confortable, and the sheets spotless. The hotel may be older, but the important things were done right. Awesome bed, hot shower, clean sheets and great rates. I will be back soon, thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We work hard to assure our guests a clean, comfortable stay and it is very gratifying to know our efforts don't go unnoticed. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Definite nice stop there on the Island, loved the resturant and the comfort the staff put you in when checking in.
A definite stop and stay again when in the area.
Great Location, Room was comfortable, Gym, Pools, and the grounds were all nicely maintained.
But without hesitation the Staff just made feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We DO want you to consider this your home away from home and we are very glad you feel that way!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here on October 10, 2012. We were checked in by a gracious lady, named Virginia, that allowed us to check out a room first. The rooms were very large and nicely decorated. Twice the size of the ones in Kitty Hawk where we stayed and not noisy like those either. Very quiet and very CLEAN. I am VERY picky about hotel rooms. (I pull back the covers and check beneath the mattress for signs of bed bug infestation...etc.) I always check TripAdvisor before stopping and don't go by the cheapest but by the best reviews from other travelers. In my honest opinion this hotel should have been #1 on the tripadvisor. She gave us a room near the pool. This pool is on the 2nd floor and it has an olympic sized pool, sauna room, hottub, workout room and even a closet with pool toys you can use ! The heated pool was awesome and CLEAN. The last review by Candidman is NOT true. Ask to view a room before staying and you will see for yourself !!!! We loved this place and if we ever go back will not bother with the more expensive rooms on the outer islands as this exceeded our expectations!!!

Room Tip: The only con was no breakfast here but they have an on site restaurant and there are many diners nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words! We work hard to make this a clean, comfortable, and affordable place to stay. We also feel it is the best hotel in Manteo! Anyone is welcome to come and check out our rooms at any time. Then decide for yourself! Thanks again BetsyMichigan! Your words expressed perfectly how we ourselves feel about our property. We look forward to having you visit us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.