We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Smithfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at the Inn while helping out with Hurricane Sandy. The staff were super helpful, and went out of their way to help when I got stuck on the ferry from Hatteras. The bed was super confortable, and the sheets spotless. The hotel may be older, but the important things were done right. Awesome bed, hot shower, clean sheets and great rates. I will be back soon, thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! We work hard to assure our guests a clean, comfortable stay and it is very gratifying to know our efforts don't go unnoticed. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    18
    29
    28
See reviews for
47
42
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Definite nice stop there on the Island, loved the resturant and the comfort the staff put you in when checking in.
A definite stop and stay again when in the area.
Great Location, Room was comfortable, Gym, Pools, and the grounds were all nicely maintained.
But without hesitation the Staff just made feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay! We DO want you to consider this your home away from home and we are very glad you feel that way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here on October 10, 2012. We were checked in by a gracious lady, named Virginia, that allowed us to check out a room first. The rooms were very large and nicely decorated. Twice the size of the ones in Kitty Hawk where we stayed and not noisy like those either. Very quiet and very CLEAN. I am VERY picky about hotel rooms. (I pull back the covers and check beneath the mattress for signs of bed bug infestation...etc.) I always check TripAdvisor before stopping and don't go by the cheapest but by the best reviews from other travelers. In my honest opinion this hotel should have been #1 on the tripadvisor. She gave us a room near the pool. This pool is on the 2nd floor and it has an olympic sized pool, sauna room, hottub, workout room and even a closet with pool toys you can use ! The heated pool was awesome and CLEAN. The last review by Candidman is NOT true. Ask to view a room before staying and you will see for yourself !!!! We loved this place and if we ever go back will not bother with the more expensive rooms on the outer islands as this exceeded our expectations!!!

Room Tip: The only con was no breakfast here but they have an on site restaurant and there are many diners nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajan P, General Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words! We work hard to make this a clean, comfortable, and affordable place to stay. We also feel it is the best hotel in Manteo! Anyone is welcome to come and check out our rooms at any time. Then decide for yourself! Thanks again BetsyMichigan! Your words expressed perfectly how we ourselves feel about our property. We look forward to having you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked this place because of its location relative to the blue grass festival. Old and worn out is the best description. Room originally had popcorn ceiling, but in many places it had fallen down and was painted over without first being patched. Bathroom is small and cramped. Tub was chipped, and door was coming apart at the base. Our entrance was from the outside with another door opening to the building's interior. It opened on a corridor with old, dirty, and torn carpet. The best surprise was when I pulled off the bed spread and was greeted by a crawly insect on the sheet. This may have been an OK hotel twenty years ago, but it is beyond its years, worn out and dirty. Stay Away!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Marketing Director at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
It is our aim that each of our guests enjoys their stay at the Elizabethan Inn. We are sorry that you did not. After receiving your evaluation of our motel, we investigated each of the items you mentioned. We did find the ceiling had been painted where the popcorn had fallen off, but none was falling and the ceiling had to be viewed at an angle to notice the “shiny spots”. The hallway carpet was neither old nor torn, having just been replaced over the winter. We did find a couple of drink spills, but considering we had a full house the entire weekend, the carpet was in remarkably good shape. We also found a small chip in the bath tub. It was smaller than an eraser and in the corner of the tub indicating someone has dropped something heavy in it. The bathroom is an average motel size, but you will be happy to know that we plan on renovating the bathrooms this winter. We are constantly renovating and upgrading our rooms and comments from our guest are very helpful. We hope you will come back and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My wife and I decided to take a 2-day trip to the outer banks of NC. We wanted a more casual trip with a home-town feeling, so rather than stay on the beach, we decided to stay in Manteo this time. We had seen the Elizabethan Inn before at the Art Festival a few years ago and decided to stay there. A nice lady by the name of Virginia helped my wife book the rooms and later, I met Suriksha who clued me in on the town's activities and what goes on. She was incredibly hospitable and friendly. Well, our experience was just great!!! And the restaurant, in the hotel was fantastic.
We will stay there again!
James Williams

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Marketing Director at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Mr Williams, Thank you for your nice comments! It was a pleasure to have you and your wife here with us; we are only sorry that you could not stay longer. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were extremely friendly - from the woman who checked us in (and helped us with directions prior to arrival) to the woman who checked us out - we were floored by their professionalism and welcoming nature. We made our reservation online using a AAA discount and all of that was honored at check-in; they even told us about specials they run throughout the year. The inn's website was easy to use and made reservation making extremely efficient. Our room was very clean, there was ample parking, and it was nice to have a fridge in the room as we recently stayed at another "big name" hotel in Wilmington that practically laughed when I inquired about a fridge. We would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Based on some of the reviews on here we were concerned about staying at this hotel. When we arrived, we were greated by a very nice lady at the front desk. The price that we made during our reservation was the price we paid. She let us know that they do not serve breakfast but there were some great restaurants close by. We got to our room and found a very clean room and bathroom. The indoor pool was huge! The outdoor pool was nice as well and busy with hotel guests. We stayed at the end of August and we would stay there again without question!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Guest Relations Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We try to treat each guest the way we would like to be treated. It makes us very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated. Thanks again! Come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.