We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Fayetteville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Based on some of the reviews on here we were concerned about staying at this hotel. When we arrived, we were greated by a very nice lady at the front desk. The price that we made during our reservation was the price we paid. She let us know that they do not serve breakfast but there were some great restaurants close by. We got to our room and found a very clean room and bathroom. The indoor pool was huge! The outdoor pool was nice as well and busy with hotel guests. We stayed at the end of August and we would stay there again without question!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Guest Relations Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice comments. We try to treat each guest the way we would like to be treated. It makes us very happy to see that our efforts are appreciated. Thanks again! Come back to see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    19
    31
    30
See reviews for
52
47
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I don't like this hotel, I don't recomended it to any body,it's a waste of your money,it's sooooo expensive for the poor quality!!they give you a price when you make a reservation,but then when you get there......surprise....more money $170 for a night..you can get something much better for this.the fridge and microwave are really old and don't work, the bathroom is sooooo small,and they smell sooo bad.the beds are so uncomortable and there was no continental breakfast, and there were no lcd t.vs. There were also not any kinds of discounts.

Room Tip: for the money that I paid,I could get something much better,cause when I did the reservation the pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family had booked a home on the Outer Banks for a Saturday check-in. We wanted to arrive the night before to beat the island traffic. We booked a room at the Elizabethan Inn on Friday night and were plesantly surprised. They accepted a one-night reservation during the peak season at a competitive rate. Our check-in was efficient and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. What a great way to start our vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balimore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our expectations of the Elizabethan Inn were kind of low based on some past reviews but, needing to book just one night of the weekend for a wedding, we decided to take a chance. We were pleasantly surprised with the condition of the Inn. Yes, the inn was a bit older with a dated bathroom in which the bathroom door could barely close due to the size of the toilet and the doorway. But, the room and beds were comfortable and clean and the front desk check in was very friendly and informative. Both the outdoor and indoor pool were very nice and we enjoyed both. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two days. The rates were way high and the WIFI was poor at best. There was no kind of continental breakfast and the owner told us there were no discounts offered. Their website is a fraud. It states there is AAA, AARP and Government rates for employees and we were told there were no discounts. They also offer on their site that if you stay for two or more nights during the week, what was called "Weekday Special", that there is a 20% discount. WRONG! No discounts offered....remember???? There were ALOT of undesirable people in the swimming pools that were not staying at the hotel. GROSS. There were no handicap accomodations offered to us, a violation of the ADA. The shower/tub was extremely small and the room smelled. The carpet had stains on it and there were unsupervised kids screaming in the hall. The owner was knowledgable of the area. There were no laundry bags in the room and no on site laundry facility. Prior to my leaving, I was told by the female desk person that the rates are elevated in "season" months cause the poor babies have to lower their rates for off season. I don't mind paying a premium price when I receive a premium room, but this was not the case and will never stay at this hotel again. DO NOT waste your money! Go to Nags Head and pay the same price for an awesome room!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I visited the Outerbanks for the first time 7/4-7/7. We had no knowledge of the areas we would be staying. Normally, we wait to arrive in a town to check out the surroundings and to find a Motel but due to the 4th Holiday, we decided not to make reservations to make sure we had a place to stay. It was probably 102 degrees when we arrived around 2 p.m. on 7/4. The A/C was not on in the room so we had to leave our things and return after abour 2 hours to give the room a chance to cool down. I'm sorry but if I'm paying $180 a night, non-cancellable, the room should have been cold upon arrival. Furthermore, there was a really nice indoor swimming pool, that was closed for the holiday. WHAT?? no seriously! There was another outdoor pool, however it was over occupied with the neighboring mobile home park residents! It wan't until dark thirty before they left the premises as i watched them walk back to their homes. Another kick in the wallet was the fact that the Motel across the street was only $80 per night!! It was a nice smaller Motel, but would have served the purpose of resting for one night! The town of Manteo on the otherhand was fabulous. Nice quiet community and just a hop skip and jump from Nags Head, Corolla, Kill Devil Hills, Hatteras and Okracoke Islands. I wouldn't reccommend Elizabethan to anyone I know.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our room, which was over $200 a night, smelled like mildew! It is very dated and the outside pool is extremely small. The staff are very concerned with how many people are in your room; they verified the number of people several times throughout our stay for all of our family (kids were even asked!) we had two adults and two children in a 2-queen bed room and had to pay extra! They were very rude to us and other travelers about the number of people; another family with one child was asked to pay extra as well, butoward their receipt from the travel site they reserved their room for, which stated 3 people without the up charge and thereby didn't have to. There is no coffee anywhere in the morning. In room coffee pot had no coffee. Would definitely not stay here again! Old, dated, rude staff, and smelly!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#11 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#6 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#5 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
10.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kitty Hawk Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.