We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the OBX Marathon weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location for the OBX Marathon weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel is in the BEST location for the OBX Marathon and Half Marathon - it's less than a 5 minute walk to the shuttle bus stop and only half a mile from the finish line - perfect for the early morning start. Rooms old and tired, but clean and plenty of parking. In November, we needed the heater which was noisy (old motel combined air con/heater unit - strange smell at first as it burned through the dust - but worked quickly to warm up the room). Check out was 11, which gave us plenty of time to shower and change after the 1/2 marathon race - staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: We didn't get any choice as the hotel was busy! Some strangely converted buildings not connecte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our motel. Our property consists of 4 buildings, all recently renovated. They have different layouts in order to accomodate all of our visitors. On your next visit, please allow us to give you a tour so we can show you everything we have to offer. Thanks for your comments. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    19
    30
    30
See reviews for
51
46
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The Inn was great! Wonderful owners+staff. Many amenities, excellent location, clean rooms, super Italian restaurant attached. Rates very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask about type of amenities in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Owner at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thanks so much for your positive comments! We know that when a guest returns home, all they can really take with them is their experience and our aim is to make it a good one. Every guest is important to us and it means a GREAT DEAL to us when our efforts are recognized. Thanks again! We hope you will come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Seen this hotel from the street and thought we would try it out. Receptionist was kind and helpful and provided us a room at a fair rate. The indoor pool is large and well maintained. Jacuzzi was great and fitness area had free weights and lots of equipment. Equipment is old but in working condition. You can get a good work out here. The hotel is starting to shows it age. The couch in our room is torn and needs to be replaced. Capets are stained in some of the common areas. Staff was friendly. Over all not a bad place to stay.

Room Tip: Close to pool is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We arrived on the weekend so had to pay $10 more for the room even thou most motels offer discounts in the fall after Labor Day. The room was clean, it is an older motel, we had to wait 20 minutes to be checked in only one staff working. We had not made reservations and the rest of the motels from the outside did not look safe so we chose this one. It is overpriced even if it is in a tourist area. We were on a road trip down the coast and this was the most expensive place we stayed. We had an ocean front view in Myrtle with better ammenties for $48 dollars less. I asked for the best rate and was told this was the best rate. I had a non smoking room but there was a cigaratte burn in the furniture.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I were looking to stay nearby the Raleigh Historic Park & ampitheatre and thought that this establishment would be fine. Not quite. First it is on a main road, so there is traffic noise. We thought we'd take a nap before the show, only to realize that our room was directly under the fitness center gym, - hence the clanking of the weights dropping till 9 p.m. When my husband inquired at the desk, they were anything but apologetic. The room was a bit musty as well. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't stay under the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My family and I received wonderful service from the staff. Our room was spacious and clean. What I enjoyed most was the family atmosphere and friendly staff that not only chatted, but made sure that our room was cleaned on a tiimely basis. We loved our stay and will be returning soon. Thanks to the Elizabethan Inn for making our stay so comfortable, we referred to our room as a second home!

Room Tip: Reserve a room in advance in order to receive the discount provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My friends and I were very disappointed in this motel. It was very overpriced for the quality of the facility and service.

The lighting is the room was very poor, the microwave oven did not work, and the refrigerator froze everything put in it, The coffee pot was never cleaned in the three days we were there, nor were we furnished any coffee other than what was in the room when we arrived. The carpeting in the interior halls was extremely stained. The only ice machine was across the back parking lot in front of another building-not very convenient at any time, but expecially at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
6.5 mi away
Outer Banks Inn
Outer Banks Inn
#10 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
7.3 mi away
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel/Outer Banks
Travelodge Nags Head Beach Hotel...
#4 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#9 of 19 in Kill Devil Hills
3.5 of 5 stars 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nags Head Inn
Nags Head Inn
#5 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.