We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Save Saved
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elizabethan Inn
814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo
Lillington, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We loved our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My family and I received wonderful service from the staff. Our room was spacious and clean. What I enjoyed most was the family atmosphere and friendly staff that not only chatted, but made sure that our room was cleaned on a tiimely basis. We loved our stay and will be returning soon. Thanks to the Elizabethan Inn for making our stay so comfortable, we referred to our room as a second home!

Room Tip: Reserve a room in advance in order to receive the discount provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    37
    13
    25
    27
See reviews for
44
33
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimberley, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

My friends and I were very disappointed in this motel. It was very overpriced for the quality of the facility and service.

The lighting is the room was very poor, the microwave oven did not work, and the refrigerator froze everything put in it, The coffee pot was never cleaned in the three days we were there, nor were we furnished any coffee other than what was in the room when we arrived. The carpeting in the interior halls was extremely stained. The only ice machine was across the back parking lot in front of another building-not very convenient at any time, but expecially at night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Arrived in Manteo after supper on a Friday night, tired and worn out. The lady at the desk was very nice and gave us a "Special" room rate. The room was off the main road and very quiet. Although we did not eat breakfast in their hotel the next morning, I understand it is a very nice buffet for a good price.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back because it is close to the Lost Colony and the Festival Park.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We found this place while planning for a last minute trip to outer banks. It is just another motel. The room was just sufficient. The carpet smelled pretty bad. The TV was probably 10 year old, picture quality was bad - we could not watch.
Only thing good about this place was, it was available when nothing was.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Marketing Director at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Your reservation was made through our web site. The pictures on the site were taken recently, but the room you had as well as the rest of the hotel has been updated with newer furniture since then. You reserved a room in a motel and you were expecting….. what? Not a motel? The carpet was added last year, and the rooms are cleaned daily. We inspected your room and found no odors in the carpet or elsewhere. We have not had a complaint about the picture quality, but if you had a problem, and called the front desk, it would have been taken care of immediately. We found no problem with the 29” TV and the reception was excellent. You stayed two nights and never complained, so your comments are confusing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is such a rip off! The room was dirty and I mean gross. There was mold, the AC stunk, the shower and bathroom area was not clean, and there was a hole in the bathroom wall. We were desperate for a room or we would have checked out as soon as we saw the condition of the room because they charge top dollar for this dump. Do not go there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We accomodate many guests each night and strive to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Therefore, we are disapointed that you were not happy with your room. However, there are no holes in any of our walls, our housekeepers are the best on the Outer Banks and our rooms are routinely inspected. If you were so unhappy, why did you not let us know? Our desk clerks are here until 10 or 11 pm and our phones are manned 24 hours. We would have done all within our power to correct any problems had there been any. Our prices are competitve, and with 2 pools, hot tub, sauna, and weight/workout room, and the convenience of a great restaurant on premises, we feel our guests are getting their value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We were on a three week fly/drive of the southern states, and this disgusting dump was the worst rip-off of the trip. We came to see the famous Lost Colony outdoor drama, and did not see any other reasonable alternative on Roanoke Island. (There was a severe thunderstorm warning and the play was cancelled, so we lost our ticket price too because I had not bought rain insurance—bummer!) I wonder where the rest of the theatre-goers stay. There was nothing but a similar motel across the street on this island.
The Elizabethan Inn charged $194 and you had to buy your own breakfast. The attached Italian restaurant, la Dolce Vita, was excellent, fortunately.
This place must have paid for itself several times over, and nothing has been put back. I would call this a slum landlord property and a disgrace. We paid way less for a Hyatt Regency suite in Atlanta, and four and five star boutique hotels in Williamsburg, VA and Annapolis, MD, all upscale markets.
The room was an exterior-entry motel-type room—the kind that used to line Route 66 a few decades ago. The ceiling was those fibreglass panels you find in botched home basement rumpus rooms, all stained and floppy. The entry door and bathroom door were all splintered and stained. The lobby and interior halls were just as dingy and depressing. The bed had just a sheet and worn out bedspread. The only bath amenities were two bars of soap and a conditioner/shampoo. There was an ancient window AC unit and dirty old carpet. You had to cross the parking lot to get to the ice machine. There was nowhere to hide the old ironing board and iron hanging on the wall. There weren’t enough power outlets for the fridge, microwave and hair dryer. The sink cabinet had raw plywood edges. There was an ancient clock radio and lamp with no power—just a tangle of wires going nowhere.
So bring on the bulldozer and let the demolition begin!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobson, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We only stayed one night as we were in Manteo to see "The Lost Colony." I was traveling with three of my teenagers and the room (#400) had the perfect set-up for a family trip. Two twin beds, one queen. Nice to not have to get out an air mattress.
The room was not "super new design" and there were no luxurious duvets but it was clean, comfortable and exactly what a family needs when traveling.
Pools were nice and tidy, front desk clerk was super friendly and helpful. She acted like she was actually glad to see us.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Call to book. Don't book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.