We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Room in Manteo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Inn to your Saves list
Elizabethan Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Room in Manteo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Arrived in Manteo after supper on a Friday night, tired and worn out. The lady at the desk was very nice and gave us a "Special" room rate. The room was off the main road and very quiet. Although we did not eat breakfast in their hotel the next morning, I understand it is a very nice buffet for a good price.
We enjoyed our stay and will be back because it is close to the Lost Colony and the Festival Park.

Room Tip: Just ask for the best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    39
    17
    27
    28
See reviews for
46
37
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We found this place while planning for a last minute trip to outer banks. It is just another motel. The room was just sufficient. The carpet smelled pretty bad. The TV was probably 10 year old, picture quality was bad - we could not watch.
Only thing good about this place was, it was available when nothing was.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Marketing Director at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Your reservation was made through our web site. The pictures on the site were taken recently, but the room you had as well as the rest of the hotel has been updated with newer furniture since then. You reserved a room in a motel and you were expecting….. what? Not a motel? The carpet was added last year, and the rooms are cleaned daily. We inspected your room and found no odors in the carpet or elsewhere. We have not had a complaint about the picture quality, but if you had a problem, and called the front desk, it would have been taken care of immediately. We found no problem with the 29” TV and the reception was excellent. You stayed two nights and never complained, so your comments are confusing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel is such a rip off! The room was dirty and I mean gross. There was mold, the AC stunk, the shower and bathroom area was not clean, and there was a hole in the bathroom wall. We were desperate for a room or we would have checked out as soon as we saw the condition of the room because they charge top dollar for this dump. Do not go there!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elizabethaninn, Manager at Elizabethan Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
We accomodate many guests each night and strive to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Therefore, we are disapointed that you were not happy with your room. However, there are no holes in any of our walls, our housekeepers are the best on the Outer Banks and our rooms are routinely inspected. If you were so unhappy, why did you not let us know? Our desk clerks are here until 10 or 11 pm and our phones are manned 24 hours. We would have done all within our power to correct any problems had there been any. Our prices are competitve, and with 2 pools, hot tub, sauna, and weight/workout room, and the convenience of a great restaurant on premises, we feel our guests are getting their value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We were on a three week fly/drive of the southern states, and this disgusting dump was the worst rip-off of the trip. We came to see the famous Lost Colony outdoor drama, and did not see any other reasonable alternative on Roanoke Island. (There was a severe thunderstorm warning and the play was cancelled, so we lost our ticket price too because I had not bought rain insurance—bummer!) I wonder where the rest of the theatre-goers stay. There was nothing but a similar motel across the street on this island.
The Elizabethan Inn charged $194 and you had to buy your own breakfast. The attached Italian restaurant, la Dolce Vita, was excellent, fortunately.
This place must have paid for itself several times over, and nothing has been put back. I would call this a slum landlord property and a disgrace. We paid way less for a Hyatt Regency suite in Atlanta, and four and five star boutique hotels in Williamsburg, VA and Annapolis, MD, all upscale markets.
The room was an exterior-entry motel-type room—the kind that used to line Route 66 a few decades ago. The ceiling was those fibreglass panels you find in botched home basement rumpus rooms, all stained and floppy. The entry door and bathroom door were all splintered and stained. The lobby and interior halls were just as dingy and depressing. The bed had just a sheet and worn out bedspread. The only bath amenities were two bars of soap and a conditioner/shampoo. There was an ancient window AC unit and dirty old carpet. You had to cross the parking lot to get to the ice machine. There was nowhere to hide the old ironing board and iron hanging on the wall. There weren’t enough power outlets for the fridge, microwave and hair dryer. The sink cabinet had raw plywood edges. There was an ancient clock radio and lamp with no power—just a tangle of wires going nowhere.
So bring on the bulldozer and let the demolition begin!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobson, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We only stayed one night as we were in Manteo to see "The Lost Colony." I was traveling with three of my teenagers and the room (#400) had the perfect set-up for a family trip. Two twin beds, one queen. Nice to not have to get out an air mattress.
The room was not "super new design" and there were no luxurious duvets but it was clean, comfortable and exactly what a family needs when traveling.
Pools were nice and tidy, front desk clerk was super friendly and helpful. She acted like she was actually glad to see us.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Call to book. Don't book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

we stayed here over the weekend and we were pleased. i essentially booked it sight-unseen and i have to say that i had the best customer service ever - the woman who works the majority of the time at the front desk was so helpful and so nice. we had adjoining rooms (us on one side, my parents on the other) to give my two kids space to roam and it worked well for us.

our rooms were at the back of the property and our door opened onto a low porch - we spent a lot of time just sitting there and letting the kids play because it was so quiet and secluded from the main road. there's a screened-in gazebo near the outdoor pool and we had our dinner there one evening.

both pools were nice - the outside one has a pretty steep drop-off from 3 ft to 10 ft - but it was never crowded or gross. the fitness room was really nice.

we had requested a pack and play for my toddler and it came with sheets and a small pillow and a mattress pad (most places i have gotten them at didn't have any linens for the playpens).

it is an older hotel and does show some age but honestly - i like the atmosphere in places like this as opposed to cookie-cutter chain hotels.

the restaurant is owned separately but do make a point of eating there! it's Italian food and it is AMAZING.

if we ever go back to Manteo, we will be staying at the Elizabethan Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This was our first time on the Outer Banks and we decided to bring our little Cavalier King Charles Spaniel puppy with us. We heard that the town on Manteo was very pet friendly, so finding the Elizabethan Inn with its Victorian theme seemed perfect. Unfortunately, the pet-friendly rooms are at the back of the property, and poorly maintained, very much out of step with other rooms. The room was old, smelly, and dingy. I was able to view other rooms in site and they were charming. Like other reviewers have mentioned, cigarette smoke carried freely and smoke-free rooms (like ours) did not smell smoke-free. Also, the website stated that it had a delightful restaurant. Well, said culinary delight was closed due to a fire approximately one year earlier (June 2009). To say the website was outdated would be an understatement. The staff was certainly friendly enough, but the overall feeling was that the Elizabethan Inn had seen better days, it being most obvious in the pet-friendly rooms, which were given short rift. What really irked us that the dismal room was sorely overpriced. A blemish on a delightful town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elizabethan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Inn

Address: 814 N US Highway 64, P. O. Box 2088, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elizabethan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the friendly atmosphere and relaxing pool facilities that make the Elizabethan Inn your perfect island destination on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Whether you are planning a family adventure, group retreat or business trip — our comfort, convenience and affordable prices are sure to please. Centrally located in the heart of Roanoke Island, Elizabethan Inn is a year round resort with shaded grounds and country manor charm. Providing for the needs of visitors since 1954, the Inn offers a friendly atmosphere, year round indoor pool/gym facilities, and an excellent Authentic Italian Cuisine restaurant all on premises. For recreation and relaxation guests can enjoy an indoor heated pool, whirlpool, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and exercise room. Amenities include free wireless internet service, cable TV with HBO, and microwaves/refrigerators/coffee machines in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elizabethan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabethan Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.