We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but had some annoying problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Scarborough Inn to your Saves list
Scarborough Inn
524 Highway 64, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
505 reviews 505 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“nice but had some annoying problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

When we arrived it was in the 80s and our room was stuffy. We turned on the a/c and it made so much noise it actually vibrated up the walls. There was no way we would be able to sleep through that. It would be in the 50s that night so I tried to open the windows. That didn't work either because one window faced the gas station right next door (very close) and it was loud. We closed that and then noticed a woodsmoke smell coming in the front window so we had to close that one too. I tossed and turned all night long from the stuffiness in our room and all the noise coming from the a/c in the room next to us. Our next 2 days/nights here were only in the 50s so the a/c was not needed and the room was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable but the room felt small and cramped. You get a free danish every morning for breakfast left in the room. The lady who runs the place was very nice and very helpful when we had questions. Would we stay here again? If it was the time of year the a/c didn't need to be on we probably would. If you have the windows open there will be some road noise because the inn sits right on highway 524.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late on a Saturday and were very happy with the room and the price! The room was very big and well equiped. The hotel is close to the main attractions. The only thing was that breakfast was not included. However, it is a very good value for the price and I will definitely go back again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice hotel. Exceptionally clean, good location. Cute furnishings. Great bargain in Roanoke. Easy reservations, even refunded a few bucks when online rate dropped! Excellent customer service!! Will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushkill, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed the last week of June 2013, room 9 at the end of the second floor. Great room, friendly staff with friendly dogs to greet you when you check in. Room was clean, it has a nice covered deck on both floors if you want to sit outside and replax. We were visiting the Outer Banks and the Alligator River NWR so it was a nice midway spot. Manteo and Roanoke Island are very nice and worth exploring as well. Please note there are two floors but no elevator, it is on a busy highway but I never heard traffic noise from the room. Office hours are limited so make sure you get there in plenty of time for check in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First of all, I do have to say that there are two B&B's with similar names in Manteo. One is Scarborough House Inn (where I thought I'd made my reservation...oops) and one is simply Scarborough Inn. The first is in an adorable house near the waterfront, and I assume they serve breakfast. The second is an inn on hwy 64...no breakfast. We did have two vending machine pastries left on the fridge, but at the time (before reading all some of these reviews) I thought they were simply left by the previous guests.

With that being said, this was not a TERRIBLE place to stay. It was only $100 a night and within a mile of downtown. The innkeeper seemed nice enough. The room, however was in need of some upkeep, but seemed reasonably clean. The only thing that I really couldn't deal with was the scent...and I can't really place what smell the smell was. Mildew maybe? I kept thinking my nose would get adjusted (because let's face it....many hotel rooms have a distinct scent but usually it isn't unpleasant), but I woke several times throughout the night smelling it.

Luckily, we only stayed the one night and moved on to Nags Head.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the room to be clean and in a great location. The only thing that bothered us was the loud ac unit in our room. It was pretty loud, even on the low setting and had a mildew smell. It did have very cold air though. Everything else about the room was fine and the price was much better than other places. Wi-fi worked great and staff seemed very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had high expectations for our stay here based on the positive reviews we read on this site, but we should have paid closer attention to the poor reviews as they are far more accurate. The room we stayed in was definitely starting to show its age especially in terms of the carpeting and the decor. The mattress was one of the worst we've ever slept in, and all the lumps and bumps left us feeling sore and tired in the morning. The bath towels are more aptly described as rags, but the real kicker though was the cockroach we saw in the bathroom. It was just one bug that quickly scurried in a crack under the toilet, and even though we didn't see it again, we were both more than a little freaked out. Be also advised that the light continental breakfast advertised on the website is a packet of muffins/danishes that's left in your room along with a coffee maker. The best thing going for this inn is its location, but when you're paying an average of $100/night the quality needs to be at a much higher standard.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scarborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Inn

Address: 524 Highway 64, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Scarborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.