We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Helicopters

Coastal Helicopters
410 Airport Rd, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
252-475-4354
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Coastal Helicopters offers air tours and scenic flights over the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina...we can take up to three passengers on an exciting trip along the oceanside past lighthouses, marine life and wild ponies. From Corolla to Ocracoke and beyond, creates memories that last a lifetime!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I were looking for something different to do in the Outer Banks. We chose to do the helicopter tour. Larry and his wife could not have been more friendly upon our arrival. It was our first helicopter ride and Larry was a great pilot and guide commenting on many points of interest on the Islands. The view was amazing and gave us a perspective of the Islands we had never experienced. I would highly recommend this tour and will look forward to to doing this again in the future.

Visited September 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bucket List Complete”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Larry and Steph could not have been more friendly and helpful. A helicopter ride was the last thing on my bucket list. Larry is an excellent pilot and tour guide. The outerbands is beautiful and to see it by air was awesome. I had a wonderful time and would like to take my grandchildren on my next visit.

Visited September 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corolla, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Manteo to Ocracoke”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Highly recommended for those that love OBX and want to see the fragile ecosystem from a "macro" view. We went two hours - great for me but 30 minutes longer than family preferred. Very organized, friendly and safe!

Visited September 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great option for sightseeing & travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My first time on a a helicopter and certainly the first time for my 4 yr old daughter. We both loved it. I booked it because i was apprehensive about this trip to the outer banks (long travel from San Francisco, family reunion w cousins my daughter had never met) and I wanted to do something that would make the trip memorable. We ended up having a great trip and Coastal Helicopters took us up the coast to Norfolk airport to start our trip home. The ride was spectacular and something i will never forget. Larry, our pilot, was courteous and v accomodating of my daughter and my golf clubs and made the overall experience worthwhile. Its not cheap, but it was worth the price i paid and then some.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredibly Beautiful and Everything I Imagined”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been going to the Outer Banks for years and it has aways been my place of peace. I had always wanted to the Outer Banks from the air and this was the year. I made the trip into a two day adventure. First day with two of my sons from Manteo to the Virginia state line traveling the beach north and the return trip by sound. Day two was with one son and my husband traveling south by the beach side of Hatteras to Ocracoke and Portsmouth islands and back by the sound. I had wanted to see mostly the lay of the land and of course the wild horses of Corolla. Larry made it so much more by pointing out the dolphins, shipwreck, sharks(yes sharks)and all the while giving us the history and other tidbits of the Outer Banks. It was truly wonderful and everything I imagined, Larry and Steph could not have been any nicer and professional with the service. This was a big check off my bucket list. I will return next year for a ride in the bio-plane, while this is not on my bucket list who can resist!

Visited August 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Helicopters also viewed

Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Coastal Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.