We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get any better than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Farm

Island Farm
1140 N US Highway 64, Manteo, NC 27954
252-473-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Manteo
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience life as it was before the Civil War. Join interpreters dressed in period attire as they carry out the daily activities of a Roanoke Island farm in the 1850s. Hands-on activities and demonstrations: Woodworking, cooking, blacksmithing, children's games and ox-drawn wagon rides are just a few activities offered. Activities vary daily.
Whiteville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Can't get any better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My absolute favorite thing to do!!! A step back in time. The staff was absolutely the nicest people I met (and we met a lot of nice people) throughout our vacation. They were very informative about the restored buildings, the Etheridge Family (who owned the farm) the livestock and how things were done "way back then." It was so much fun we went back the next day and was just in time for a cart ride. The cart was pulled by a huge, sweet bull by the name of Charlie. Then we went across the highway and petted the horses. What a fun and informative place, not to mention peaceful and unhurried. The best!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great, interesting place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great place. I went in with very low expectations. Not sure what we were going to see. Pleasantly Surprised by the Island Farm. Very interesting place. Nice to take a step back in time. Will definitely go there again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stopped here after all the National Parks were shut down and we had to decide on other tourist sites and I am sure glad we did. It was awesome. The people that were there where so friendly and informative. I learned alot about how things were done back then including how hot a kitchen can get when there is no air conditioning. I would for sure go back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A door to the past!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A great living history farm that is well worth the time to stop and visit. Authentically restored buildings with costumed interpreters make this a fun and informative visit. We strolled along the grounds and visited with the sheep, free ranging chickens, and oxen. Saw the pumpkin patch with scarecrow. Good demonstration of old fashioned hearthside cooking. Many buildings to explore from chicken coop to blacksmithy. Lots of games and demonstrations for both children and adults. Unique oxen pulled wagon ride in the afternoon. A most enjoyable morning!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“A great afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We enjoyed Island farm with our two toddlers. They got to feed the chickens and look for eggs in the chicken coop, then deliver them to the cookhouse. There is nothing that they can't touch or go. It was nice to not have to say no all day long. We had the privilege of taking a hay ride with the manager of the farm as our driver. He has a lot of information to shAre so ask many questions. It was really interesting. There is a basket of clothes as you come in and the kids or adults can wear perd costumes! It can be tricky to find with GPS so look for the open field with the windmill and it is across th street. Have fun!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Farm also viewed

 

Been to Island Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.