We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Al's Restaurant and Grill

Big Al's Restaurant and Grill
716 S. Highway 64/264, Highway 64/264, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
+1 252-473-5570
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 31 Restaurants in Manteo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner
Description: The past is back! Big Al's Soda Fountain & Grill serves up authentic American fare in a retro 50's fun dining atmosphere. Restaurant features soda fountain counter, juke box, dance floor, game room/arcade, one of the largest Coca-Cola memorabilia collections in the country, fresh never-frozen USDA certified Prime Angus burgers, home made desserts, 50's inspired gift-shop and blue-plate specials. New owners have recently updated the restaurant from top to bottom with a focus on a quality dining experience with all the good flavors of the era.
Manteo
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'll come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

My daughter had a burger that was over cooked... Derek came out and took it back and had it remade! He was very professional and made sure we were happy with everything! Crystal was awesome! She was very attentive and made sure our drinks remained filled! The Ruben is the bomb! We will be back!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    72
    46
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Derek was very nice and personally made our desserts for us. Ugena was very loud and obnoxious. Crystal was very nice and a pleasure to be around

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Derek was very professional, replaced a burger that wasn't cooked right and delivered it himself, he also hand made our desserts! Crystal was very quick and attentive, she stayed on top of our empty cups and cared about how we were doing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Reminiscent of the 1950's. . .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A diner reminiscent of the 1950's with a Coca Cola theme. Burgers seem to be a specialty, although the menu contains other plated items, etc. The place was crowded when we went for a weekday lunch, so it's popular with locals as well as tourists. We had a bit of a wait, although our food was only average. Service was terribly slow and the server seemed to be confused about who ordered what. Guess she was overworked. We don't live in the area, so we won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you are in the mood for overpriced average food then you will do fine. The atmosphere was nice with a great collection of coca cola collectables. Wait staff was OK, at best. Did not ask if I would like a refill... Only interested in upselling. I won't be back nor would I recommend to friends or family.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 
Manteo, Roanoke Island
 

Been to Big Al's Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Al's Restaurant and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.