We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't want to eat it can't be beat” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Big Al's Restaurant and Grill

Big Al's Restaurant and Grill
716 S. Highway 64/264, Highway 64/264, Manteo, NC 27954
+1 252-473-5570
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 30 Restaurants in Manteo
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Description: The past is back! Big Al's Soda Fountain & Grill serves up authentic American fare in a retro 50's fun dining atmosphere. Restaurant features soda fountain counter, juke box, dance floor, game room/arcade, one of the largest Coca-Cola memorabilia collections in the country, fresh never-frozen USDA certified Prime Angus burgers, home made desserts, 50's inspired gift-shop and blue-plate specials. New owners have recently updated the restaurant from top to bottom with a focus on a quality dining experience with all the good flavors of the era.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you don't want to eat it can't be beat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

If you like Coca-Cola Collectibles it is fun to see everything but if you are looking to actually eat don't go in hungry. We were seated right away then sat and sat and sat and sat. Now remember this is November off sesson hardly anyone there. Plenty of wait staff just none of them interested in waiting on us. We couldn't even get drinks. It was like we had the invisible table. We finally just gave up and left. The cashier never even looked up as we walked out. So left and went somewhere that cared about the business of customers

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick C, General Manager at Big Al's Restaurant and Grill, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Please accept our humblest of apologies for your experience at Big Al's. We're happy you enjoyed the environment and I would like to assure you that your experience was atypical of our business. The food and service match the environment and we'd love the opportunity to make this experience up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    69
    43
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Has the feel of an old fashioned diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I loved this place! The food (sandwiches) were good, and there was not a long wait. I loved how it was decorated to look like the 1950's. My husband was less impressed with the food, but I would definitely visit here again. My three kids loved it, too!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stopped here for lunch between visiting the gardens and aquarium. Fun diner type place, nostalgic, good music playing and the food we had was good! We had great service, no wait and the food came out fast. I asked a question about the meatloaf and the waitress went and got me some to try to see if I wanted to order it. I actually had a chicken caeser salad and hush puppies, my hubbie had bleu cheese burger and sweet potato fries. Both were very tasty, and I must say that the hush puppies were some of the best I have had anywhere! Not the healthiest food around, but for a splurge meal it is great!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarbro, West Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Big Al's Delivers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was a cool September evening and I was in Manteo looking for a car battery. Where to eat? Not a lot to choose from, so I picked the restaurant with the biggest sign--Big Al's Restaurant and Grill. It is close to state route 64 and there were a few cars in the parking lot when we pulled in at around 8:15 p.m.

The waitress was friendly and there was only one other group in the restaurant. We really enjoyed the music playing on the juke box (not enough of these anymore!), along with all of the nostalgic Coca-Cola advertising displays and local photos.

I ordered the tuna melt and it was grilled to perfection. Really, really a great sandwich. The onion rings were tasty, too. My sister ordered the bar-b-que and it, too, was delicious. We both had chocolate malts as well. Can't even remember when I had one the last time. Very good with a slight taste of malted milk balls.

My only disappointment was that they did not offer Coca-Cola cake on the dessert menu. This would have been the perfect ending to a great meal. They do have Mr. Pibb cake (I believe that is what it is called), but we were not willing to try it--completely sold on Coca-Cola cake.

The two couples at the other table finished their meal and took a turn on the dance floor before leaving. That was cool--told you the music was kickin'!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ok food, really bad service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had to wait a really long time and finally flagged someone down just to get waited on. Waited almost as long for the food, which was OK but nothing fantastic. Not wasting my time here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Al's Restaurant and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Big Al's Restaurant and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Al's Restaurant and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.