We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Inn Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters

The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters
Save
You added The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters to your Saves list
406 Uppowoc Avenue, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“Best Inn Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hosts Pam and Matt are simply wonderful. The accommodations are very comfortable and clean. Pam's breakfasts are from scratch and simply delicious. This is our go-to spot in Manteo. We go there a couple of times each year and are never disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
walnut cove,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Hosts were nice! Beautiful area enjoyed riding bikes and delicious seafood. There was a invasion of palmetto bugs.(their fancy name for roaches!!!!) 1 was the size of my husbands two thumbs ..I can see 1 but 3 scared us to death. We stayed in the yellow room the bed was creaky and lumpy not very comfortable and the pillows were flat as pancakes...Besides that we enjoyed our time in a beautiful town. There is no free water or soda just tap water and no making of a bed. You have to ask for clean towel. No home made dessert all the things we like when we go to a B&B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just enjoyed a wonderful weekend at The Outdoors Inn. We were very pleased with the accommodations. The space was perfect for us (couple) and we slept well. The hosts were very helpful with restaurants, local info. Breakfast was great. The homemade chocolate banana nut muffins were wonderful!! Also used the provided bikes too sightsee and to ride back/forth to dinner. We would not hesitate to stay here again. It's a shame Bob E had such a bad stay, ours could not have been better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The picture of the gate out front says it all. You are sort of welcome. Oh, that's as far as the gates opens. Good luck maneuvering it! Guests are patrons, not guests. The host was visible once, when WE engaged him. The hostess could not be bothered. "Breakfast" as they define it on their web-page doesn't exist. The eggs were cold, the coffee and hot water had to be asked for and the "fresh" muffins and such were store bought or gotten from a church sale. The hostess stayed in the kitchen working on the computer and every time we tried to engage her, she gave us a look of "why are you bothering me". The second morning, our last, we arrived in the common dining room only to find that she couldn't wait to get out and "get to work". There was no coffee or hot water on the second day and God did NOT SEE IT AND IT WAS NOT GOOD.
The bed, in the yellow room, was first used by King John of England as a torture instrument for those still waiting for King Richard to return. The ceiling above it sounded as though it wanted to crash in at any time as people above walked on it. Also, the nightly argument was almost interesting except that we couldn't make out the words.
There is no hot tub, patio, pool or friendliness, as is noted on the OUTERBANKS website, an excuse that was immediately used by the hostess for anything that was not available. If you want to stay there, you will be safer since the POLICE station is across the street. There was no attempt to get to know us.
Our first clue to the tragedy should have been the cancellation policy of 14 days. No other B&B that we know of does this. If you have booked this place, call the county health department and then cancel quickly. We got virtually no good sleep and it is very possible that the car would have been more comfortable.
The best part of the stay was leaving. This place should be out of business since the people running it are tired of running it. Since one cannot rate zero stars, we rate it none of the above. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely little inn, in a lovely little town (Manteo) , on a lovely island (Roanoke Island). Homey and comfortable, with very knowledgable innkeepers. Got great recommendations on restaurants, local attractions (a really nice farmer's market on saturday), and places to fish. You can also rent kayaks from them. We were planning on staying 3 days, and extended it another night because we liked it so much.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, both on the first floor with windows looking out onto the pretty gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

For starters folks this is a B&B, its supposed to be cozy and quaint, but great Food and Great Host are so important. Matt and Pam are awesome. As a OIF Veteran, i know what sucks and what is great, Matt and Pam are Kind, caring people who open thier home and Hearts. I say this : Come and try but be ready for real life experiences not canned resort experience. Matt and Pam we hope to see y'all in the spring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I should say "this is a terrible place - go somewhere else" ... so there will be a room available when I want to come back. Which will be soon. But that would be bad karma so here we go. Matt & Pam share their place just right. Completely authentic to why you're staying at a B&B. And what a location! Felt like family (in a good way) with them and the other guests. Even got scolded for slamming the door after being out a bit too late at Outer Banks Brewery (don't tell anyone - I blamed my GF for that but it was really me). Plenty of privacy when you need it, and great advice on local activities. Pam - you really should write a book ;-) Matt too. We'll be back many times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters

Address: 406 Uppowoc Avenue, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.