We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chamber of Horrors” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters

The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters
Save
You added The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters to your Saves list
406 Uppowoc Avenue, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chamber of Horrors”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The picture of the gate out front says it all. You are sort of welcome. Oh, that's as far as the gates opens. Good luck maneuvering it! Guests are patrons, not guests. The host was visible once, when WE engaged him. The hostess could not be bothered. "Breakfast" as they define it on their web-page doesn't exist. The eggs were cold, the coffee and hot water had to be asked for and the "fresh" muffins and such were store bought or gotten from a church sale. The hostess stayed in the kitchen working on the computer and every time we tried to engage her, she gave us a look of "why are you bothering me". The second morning, our last, we arrived in the common dining room only to find that she couldn't wait to get out and "get to work". There was no coffee or hot water on the second day and God did NOT SEE IT AND IT WAS NOT GOOD.
The bed, in the yellow room, was first used by King John of England as a torture instrument for those still waiting for King Richard to return. The ceiling above it sounded as though it wanted to crash in at any time as people above walked on it. Also, the nightly argument was almost interesting except that we couldn't make out the words.
There is no hot tub, patio, pool or friendliness, as is noted on the OUTERBANKS website, an excuse that was immediately used by the hostess for anything that was not available. If you want to stay there, you will be safer since the POLICE station is across the street. There was no attempt to get to know us.
Our first clue to the tragedy should have been the cancellation policy of 14 days. No other B&B that we know of does this. If you have booked this place, call the county health department and then cancel quickly. We got virtually no good sleep and it is very possible that the car would have been more comfortable.
The best part of the stay was leaving. This place should be out of business since the people running it are tired of running it. Since one cannot rate zero stars, we rate it none of the above. Go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go Somewhere else at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Lovely little inn, in a lovely little town (Manteo) , on a lovely island (Roanoke Island). Homey and comfortable, with very knowledgable innkeepers. Got great recommendations on restaurants, local attractions (a really nice farmer's market on saturday), and places to fish. You can also rent kayaks from them. We were planning on staying 3 days, and extended it another night because we liked it so much.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, both on the first floor with windows looking out onto the pretty gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shash123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

For starters folks this is a B&B, its supposed to be cozy and quaint, but great Food and Great Host are so important. Matt and Pam are awesome. As a OIF Veteran, i know what sucks and what is great, Matt and Pam are Kind, caring people who open thier home and Hearts. I say this : Come and try but be ready for real life experiences not canned resort experience. Matt and Pam we hope to see y'all in the spring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I should say "this is a terrible place - go somewhere else" ... so there will be a room available when I want to come back. Which will be soon. But that would be bad karma so here we go. Matt & Pam share their place just right. Completely authentic to why you're staying at a B&B. And what a location! Felt like family (in a good way) with them and the other guests. Even got scolded for slamming the door after being out a bit too late at Outer Banks Brewery (don't tell anyone - I blamed my GF for that but it was really me). Plenty of privacy when you need it, and great advice on local activities. Pam - you really should write a book ;-) Matt too. We'll be back many times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

ok, the outside was ok, the kitchen was nice , the yellow room was clean. as far as the bed being comfortable, NOT. sat on bed- squeaked and when you turned over in bed was loud and very uncomfortable. did not sleep good at all. the inn-keepers live upstairs and was noisy, trying to sleep then the light in hall comes on till next am. with this being said is an old house and the light shown via cracks. we get to the inn, unpack, get n the bikes with this being said no instructions on which bikes to use- my husband picks pam's son bike and we ride to the shop. pam was not friendly nor a people person. as far as the hot-tub- not hitting on much either- not properly maintained - no chemicals were in hot tub got in and stayed for few, sand or dirt particles were in the hot tub. went to the hot tub and pam came out and stated we needed to use the towels by the hot tub, well this was the first thing we had heard of the towels. we had brought towels from the room and pam stated to use towels from hot tub area ok, and pam stated we were not going to get clean towels every day. while outside the family were in kitchen and back and forth looking outside while we were in hot tub, not a good time, did not enjoy myself, bed awful, i paid in full for one week and only stayed one night and left next am. i do not recommend this inn, as the inn keeper pam is not a people person and really should not even be in the business of renting her rooms out.

Room Tip: always do research and check online reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This is a sweet little inn in Manteo. We discovered it last winter and now have spent several nights. What a great find at a reasonable price!

The Outdoors Inn is a small inn with only 2 rooms. I usually choose larger B&Bs or Inns as often the smaller B&Bs don't afford privacy. But Pam and Matt have got this down. They are there to help you out with directions and recommendations, but they also assure your privacy is respected. Both rooms are situated at the front of the house with a nice front porch outside your window. There you can sit out on the porch on the front porch swing or rocking chairs and enjoy a nice glass of wine. The guest rooms are separated from the owners quarters downstairs. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. In the morning the downstairs area is opened up for guest usage where breakfast is served. The B&B is just a few blocks from the water and charming downtown Manteo and its restaurants. Bikes are available for your use as well.

My only 'complaint' lol, is it is hard to sleep in when you smell the those fresh muffins baking and you start to wonder what else awaits you! But don't worry, you can sleep in and eat anytime you want. The Outdoors Inn is very laid back that way. Pam gets up in the morning and prepares a full breakfast which you help yourself too whenever you wake up. No it's not a fancy sitdown service type of B&B with egg souffles (I like those type of B&Bs too) but it's good and filling. As my memory serves me we've had our choice of eggs, sausage, pancakes, fresh fruit, cheese grits, sereral types of muffins, bacon, cereals, juice, coffee, etc. The options vary each day.

My suggestion....book early as rooms fill quickly especially during the summer, fall and late spring.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncenjoytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep Gap
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Should have written this review a long time ago. We stayed in April 2010. This is an excellent place to stay at a great rate. We had the yellow room (there are two guest rooms). It was spacious. The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was excellent each morning. Always something fresh baked. There were bikes to borrow for a ride around the area. We rode bikes or walked to the waterfront several times, and even rode bikes to the N.C. Aquarium. Matt and Pam were excellent hosts. Friendly. Helpful with area info. Suggested a couple of really good restaurants. Manteo is a lovely little town, and centrally located to quite a few Outer Banks points of interest. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Loved it!

Room Tip: Stayed in the yellow room. I believe it's a bit more spacious than the blue room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteo
0.4 mi away
Elizabethan Inn
Elizabethan Inn
#1 of 2 in Manteo
3.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront
4.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 13 in Nags Head
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#6 of 10 in Manteo
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cameron House Inn
Cameron House Inn
#3 of 10 in Manteo
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outdoors Inn & Outfitters

Address: 406 Uppowoc Avenue, Manteo, Roanoke Island, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Roanoke Island > Manteo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing