We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquil House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tranquil House Inn
Save
You added Tranquil House Inn to your Saves list
405 Queen Elizabeth Ave, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Knoxville
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

There's an old time feel of luxury here. Nice and quiet yet beautiful. Nestled in the heart of the manteo village and also just a walk across the bridge to Roanoke Park. This place reminds me of how lodges were done 50 years ago and it's just got an attention to detail that I like. They don't make'em like this place anymore. A great place to stay away from the bustle of the beaches area and yet that's just a few minutes away. You'll love this place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    44
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
59
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The front desk is very friendly and accommodating, felt like home compared to a chain hotel. They had cider and cookies in the afternoon, wine and cheese on Saturday night during a cocktail hour, and a good breakfast in the morning. Rooms were clean and spacious, my only complaint would be that our room just had a view of the street but we had booked it 8 months in advance, which may not matter but was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This B&B is not on the ocean, but it is on the water with a marina. I stay here once a year for a quiet weekend get-away. The town of Manteo is quaint and there is plenty to do. Lots of little shops. They also supply bicycles for tooling around. The staff is always pleasent and helpful. The B&B has a wonderful restaurant in-house, but there are also several casual restaurants within walking distance. It is worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The rooms were large and nicely furnished, but there was nothing special that made them worth the price. They seemed as though they were fixed up 15 years ago and haven't really been touched since. The rooms smelled musty and everything felt just a little damp. The deck overlooking the water was nice, as were the cookies in the afternoon, wine at night, and breakfast in the morning. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay and $211 a night is reasonable for you, then this is the place to choose, but if you are looking to get a really great room for the price, skip this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Excellent location, great accomodations, wonderful shoping outstanding dining

Room Tip: 3rd level rooms are the best appointed and really private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Hotel is very close to shopping and Roanoke Island Festival Park. The hotel name is well deserved, since shops close at 5pm and one has no choice but to be tranquil. We did enjoy sitting by the river & on the deck. Don't miss the free wine & cheese each evening.
If you're concerned about security, request one of the rooms with entrance inside hotel rather than outside.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was described to me by the staff as a cross between a hotel and a bed and breakfast. I would describe it as a hotel for grown-ups. It had many of those extra little touches that made guests feel welcome. From the moment we checked in until we checked out we were made to feel welcome. The staff helped us with information about the area and made sure we knew about activities at the Inn.
In the afternoons, there was lemonade and cookies available in the 2nd floor lounge. Every evening there was wine and cheese to enjoy. And there was a complimentary continental breakfast every morning The second floor lounge was adjacent to a nice outdoor deck with lots of chairs and tables. You could enjoy views of the water and marina from either place.
The room itself (we had a room with 2 queen beds) was very nice. The beds were comfortable and the room was exceptionally quiet. We had a corner room so we had views of the bridge and marina from one side and the water and marina on the other. I don't think there was an elevator in the building but there was a ramp to the main floor.
The Inn is convenient to the downtown area and many shops and restaurants are within walking distance. While I personally think the room was a little on the pricey side, I would definitely recommend staying here if you have the opportunity.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there would be a bad room in the Inn, if ours was any indication of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tranquil House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil House Inn

Address: 405 Queen Elizabeth Ave, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern inn with a view over Roanoke Sound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tranquil House Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquil House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.