We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Save Saved
You added Roanoke Island Inn to your Saves list
305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Roanoke Island is great and the Roanoke Island Inn is the place to stay. Awesome Inn. I've stayed here while on business 3 times and love it. The staff is great. Last week I was blessed to be acompanied by my wife and son. Now they wonder if I was realy on business. They loved it and can't wait to be back. The bikes and snacks made my son not want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    23
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
123
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Not sure what the best part was: location, charm, hospitality, or ambience! The Roanoke Island Inn had it all in spades. Rocking chair porch overlooking the water, waterfront walks, summer house (or folly) in the garden, colorful koi pond, round-the-clock snacks, and a stable of bikes made for a very relaxing stay. Parking is ample, and downtown is just steps away. Such a perfect place to base a trip in the OBX. A quick drive over the bridge and you are on the beach, then come "home" to quiet southern comfort and grace. Only snag was a fairly hard mattress in room 7, but that is a matter of preference as much as anything.

Room Tip: Second floor waterfront view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our 3rd time staying at the Roanoke. My husband and I enjoy relaxing on the 2nd floor porch, and love that the inn is in walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants in Manteo. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly.

Love it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This beautiful cottage is part of the Roanoke Island Inn, 305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954. It is completely refurbished and very nice on the inside. Attention to detail is outstanding. Very warm and comfortable and has two central AC Units. Just park and go to town or to the park. Very convenient and close to all activities in Manteo. In-keeper ""Dee" is warm and friendly. They supply snacks, full kitchen, everything to make it feel like a home. Croatian Cottage is pet friendly as are two of the rooms in the inn. 100% worth it if your going to Manteo.

Room Tip: Be aware the traffic on interstate 95 and into Manteo is a challenge unless you drive thought the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed with my MoH the night before and with my husband the night of our wedding. Ms. Dee made all of our stay absolutely wonderful, from the initial booking process through checkout. We opted to use the garden area for our First Look, and from what I've been able to tell so far, the pictures look amazing! We had coffee ready for us both mornings, and snacks were available 24 hours. The Inn is also located within walking distance of several shops and restaurants, as well as some other scenic areas of Manteo, which was nice for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This inn offers charming rooms filled with coastal furniture and Audubon prints and maps. You'll love the rockers on the second story porch overlooking Shallowbag Bay and the Manteo Light. Library and kitchen have everything you need including wifi and soda fountain. Bikes available, but it's an easy walk along the waterfront down to restaurants and shopping.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a lovely Inn in a perfect position. Very comfortable and a great kitchen with food and drink available all day along with breakfast in the morning. Great access to nearby restaurants and sights. We spent 2 nights here touring the Outer Banks but it's a great base for longer trips

Room Tip: We had a nice room at the front with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roanoke Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.