We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn in best location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
Save Saved
You added Roanoke Island Inn to your Saves list
305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn in best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very nice building with beautiful Veranda on second floor, conveniently located 5 mins by foot from "downtown", waterfront, innkeeper friendly & helpful, rooms are spacious, garden nice, pantry large with great collection of books. Breakfast very good, amazing that 6 chairs sit everybody, at least we had no queuing up for breakfast ...
Can thoroughly recommend staying there!

Room Tip: we had #6 on second floor overlooking the garden and it was perfect. Obviously the rooms facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    24
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
48
129
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We just stayed at the Roanake for a long weekend to attend a wedding. This Inn is located right at the water's edge, adjcaent to long boardwalks and fabulous water views of Shallowbag Bay. Accomodations were wonderful. Dee is a great Innkeeper. The inn is small but with large rooms, wonderful porches to hang out on and common living room with books and magazines provided. A gergeous Kitchen Pantry is available to all guests with breakfast itemsm drinks, and plentiful snacks. There are bikes to use, but not needed, as downtown Manteo is only 1 block away. This is a perfect location for boating, not really any beaches immediately neaby (you would want to cross back over to Nags Head to access open ocean/beaches). Once you arrive, you may not need your car.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 or 5 are best view of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We gathered from various parts of the U.S. for our friends' daughter's wedding held within walking distance of this Inn (at the Burleigh). Dee is the charming person who checked us in and set up breakfast every morning and the person who was sweet and friendly at the beginning of the day (7:30 AM) and every other time we saw her. The Roanoke Island Inn has been in the same family since the 1860s and it shows, the restoration and all additions that have been made are totally in keeping with the style of the Inn and the surrounding area. It sits on a bay and offers lovely views from most of the rooms. We were thrilled with the incredibly comfortable bed, the access to the town of Manteo with shopping and food options, and the perfect weather...okay maybe they didn't have anything to do with the weather, but by the time we left we weren't entirely sure! It was a great experience and we certainly hope to go back!

Room Tip: We had room 5 with a king bed and three front windows overlooking the water. It was perfect, nice ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I booked a stay here for our three year anniversary. It was my first time (my husband's second) visit to OBX. We were surprised at the size of the pantry! There is a spread of pastries and fresh fruit in the morning in addition to the pantry containing yogurt, milk, small water bottles, coffee, tea, cereals, toast and bagels. You can raid the pantry throughout the day, which was really nice and there is a soda dispenser (similar to the ones you find in fast food places). Dee also had amazing recommendations for things to do around the area and she has a drawer full of restaurant menus (ones within walking distance and those within driving distance). The "lobby" is more of a living room with a wall full of books about the history of the OBX, travel guides, and some fiction novels.
We stayed in room #6 with a king sized bed on the second floor, which did not have a waterfront view, but was nice nevertheless. It has a private entrance and bath (the rubber ducky was a nice touch). There is a ceiling fan in the room and an AC unit. It was a bit humid in the room, but we didn't want to use the AC since it was so loud. We also had access to the deck with rocking chairs. There is a nice view of the Roanoke Lighthouse and the water from the deck. The Inn is also walking distance from the shops and within driving distance of Nags Head. There is also parking (diagonal way) right out front of the Inn.

We definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My best friend's 50th birthday was on Oct. 12, 2013. I decided to take her away for her big day! After talking with our husband, we decided to head to the Outer Banks, NC. I did some research and found the Roanoke Island Inn. The Inn Keeper was so nice and friendly, the room was great! It is so hard to find a B&B with two beds in a room, but this one had it. The grounds around the Inn where beautiful, with its own goldfish pond. The main area had everything we needed, coffee, yogurts, fresh fruit in the morning along with pastries, and snacks to get you through the day.

The Island is very nice the Inn sits right on the water and the boardwalk is directly in front of the Inn. I would say the whole experience was awesome.

Room Tip: All the rooms where lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

It was excellent! It was so relaxing and peaceful! Loved breakfast and knowing we could get a cold drink any time or make coffee any time...little snacks. Great area and we will go back again. It was our first visit to Manteo and the Outer Banks. We could walk from the Inn to the shops, to eat lunch or dinner out and walked on the docks...great for a little exercise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olyphant , pa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Dee called us to let us know everything was prepared for us. We loved this inn! Nice continental breakfast and 24 hour drinks and snacks available. Loved all the period furniture and the view from our 2nd floor porch. The gardens and pond were lovely! Dee was very helpful with suggestions of what to see and where to dine. Manteo is quiet and laid back. Saturday the Farmer's Market downtown has to die for baked goods! Town is a quick walk down the boardwalk. The parlor/ library has a beautiful ceiling mural by Jeffrey Batchelor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roanoke Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.