We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roanoke Island Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roanoke Island Inn
305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Salisbury NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice family visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thanks for hosting us for our September family get away. As usual, the Inn feels like home, and our stay was relaxing.

Look foward to possibly one more trip before the Inn closes for the winter. It's always nice to visit Manteo when it's really cool outside.

And thanks very much for Sarah's recommendation of the movie theater. That is something we've overlooked for over 20 years of visits to the Inn. It was a neat show, and really brings back the feel of the theater when we were younger (c:

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    22
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
98
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I followed the advice of a new friend and eighth generation Roanoke Islander whose family still lives on the Island, and he was adamant that there is only one great place to stay at on Manteo and that is the Roanoke Island Inn. He was right. My wife and I had a perfect five-night stay there right after labor day, and you would be hard pressed to find lodgings with more charm and in a more beautiful setting. Five-star hospitality from the Inn Keeper and staff and you can literally walk downtown to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but ask for a room with a sound view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the weekend and very much enjoyed the charm of the R.I. We were in one of the upstairs rooms with the sound view and enjoyed the rocking chairs located just outside the room complete with great views of the sound and a nice breeze. The location of the Inn is about a block from downtown Manteo so it is very convenient to walk to shops and restaurants. Dee was a most gracious host and we found the rooms well appointed and the pantry always stocked with great breakfast and snack foods and drinks. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking to get away to the Outer Banks and the crowds found in a typical motel/hotel.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with the view of the sound are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are just completing a honeymoon road trip along the eastern shores of North Carolina, and were lucky enough to stumble upon the Roanoke Island Inn late in the evening. The innkeeper D was so gracious and welcoming, we wish we had arrived to Manteo earlier during our trip! The views are beautiful and serene, and the inn is immaculate and wonderfully maintained. We will certainly be returning to Manteo, and to the Roanoke Island Inn.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great, and hanging out in the rocking chairs along the breezy porch with some wine is a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed in the bungalow. Very clean and well maintained.The inn is very user friendly. Dee and her staff do a wonderful job. Can't help but wonder if it could be any better and I really don't think so. Great job Dee!
Highly recommend the Inn for anyone who wishes to see true southern hospitality.Thanks again Dee for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband an I recently stayed at inn in rm 5.It was very clean and well decorated .We would like to thank Dee the inn keeper, she was so helpful in recommending good restaurants,and places to go .The location was great we could walk most every where or you could ride the bikes .The continental breakfast was good , fresh fruit cut every day, just like home .Access to snacks anytime.Grounds were well maintained. Can't say enough. We would stay there again and probably will next year .Thanx again Dee for your southern hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

It was perfectly located in Manteo. Made it very easy to explore downtown Mateo. We stayed in Room 4, which had a very nice view of the sound.

The only down side I would have to say was that our shower made some really loud squeals when turning on. Not a huge problem but I would advise not taking a shower late at night. Might wake up the other rooms.

Room Tip: Room 4 had a beautiful view of the sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roanoke Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roanoke Island Inn

Also Known As:
Roanoke Island Hotel Manteo
Roanoke Island Hotel
Address: 305 Fernando St, Manteo, NC 27954
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roanoke Island Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Roanoke Island Inn to your Saves list