We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite B&B in North Carolina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manteo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
319 Sir Walter Raleigh Street, Manteo, NC 27954   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Manteo B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite B&B in North Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

We have stayed at the White Doe Inn twice and will certainly return for many reasons: (1) a beautiful and charming home; (2) comfortable and unique rooms; (3) wonderful location in downtown Manteo; (4) the tranquil setting; (5) the four-course breakfast; (6) the Italian coffee super-machine; and (7) the friendly owners. This is one of our favorite places in NC!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    15
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
147
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

The White Doe Inn is simple beautiful. It was decorated for Christmas during our stay, and the Christmas decorations simply enhanced the beauty of the White Doe Inn. Everyone we met was professional and courteous. We especially enjoyed meeting and chatting with the owner who is an NC State graduate. We are also an NC State family. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Great presentation, friendly staff, delicious food. It was hard to leave! We will share our positive experience with our friends, and we hope to return to the White Doe Inn. Thank you for following up with us!

- Wanda Dail

  • Liked — Value, beauty, service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

This was our first visit to the Outer Banks and The White Doe Inn and it was everything we hoped for! The innkeepers were informative and easy to talk to, the breakfast was to die for (4 courses!) and the room was romantic and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

The White Doe Inn is the nicest B&B that we have stayed at in North Carolina. The whole Inn was well furnished, and the staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were comfortable and romantic, and we looked forward to returning there each day after our activities on the Outer Banks. They also have a phenomenal four course breakfast, which was a great start to the day. We had a wonderful experience at the White Doe Inn and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tn.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2007

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks. We chose five different bed and breakfast inns for the trip. The White Doe was by far our favorite. The rooms are lovely. The food delicious and the inn keeper very nice. The only regret was we had only one night to stay. I especially enjoyed the beautiful yellow cat that was making the inn her home. The White Doe is definitely an inn I would want to go back to.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Simsbury, CT
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

everything great. Breakfast Awesome!!!!!
Thanks we'll be back!!!!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury, new jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2007

This is a truly delightful bed and breakfast. Located in a large, beautifully furnished three story house, it has a wraparound porch on the second floor, so you can step outside your door and lounge, as I did. Manteo in October was a quiet, restful spot. The inn has 24 hour coffee, innumerable goodies like cookies, candies, sherry, all available to munch on in two large spacious parlors. The rooms are impeccably furnished, have gas fireplaces as well, and the two breakfasts we had were excellent. The first day we ate outside in the garden, since the weather was perfect for it.. The garden and the porch on the first floor are nice to relax in as well. Overall, this is a carefully run place, with attention to detail, friendly and comfortable. Betty from NJ

  • Liked — lots of goodies, coffee available all the time, lovely quiet accommodations
  • Disliked — The bed was a bit hard, I like a soft bed
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 319 Sir Walter Raleigh Street, Manteo, NC 27954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Manteo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Manteo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury lodging, quality service, and island life await you at the White Doe Inn; located in the quaint, coastal village of Manteo on Roanoke Island, NC. All bedchambers are decorated with family heirlooms, turn-of-the-century antiques & reproductions with comfortable sitting areas and fireplaces. Several rooms offer spa tubs for two and balconies. A full breakfast if offered daily. Every effort has been made to create a comfortable and intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Doe Hotel Manteo
The White Doe Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Doe Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.