We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat bit of little known history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roanoke Island Festival Park

Roanoke Island Festival Park
Downtown Manteo, Roanoke Island, Manteo, NC 27954
+1 252-475-1506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Attractions in Manteo
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Ships, Outdoors
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: History comes alive with a replica of Elizabeth II's era and costumed-sixteenth-century characters.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Neat bit of little known history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a replica of the little ship that sailed from England and discovered the colonists who landed in 1607(?) had vanished (the "Lost Colony"). There are docents, the boat itself is interesting, there are outdoor exhibits about Indian life, and a gift shop worth visiting. Admission was a bit pricey, but we didn't regret paying it.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    65
    25
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“QUICK HISTORY LESSON ON THE AREA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Reasonably priced attraction(under $20) which includes both sides of the story of the colonial period. There is an art gallery attached to the visitors center which features changing exhibits, an interactive museum and a living history portrayal. The musem features a movie on the Native American story of the colonial period as well as interesting exhibits. The living history area includes a Native American village as well as an English settlement and a replica of one of the 16th century ships that brought the English to the new world. Gift shop had a nice assortment of merchandise.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holland, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place if you like history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We were staying in Salvo for Thanksgiving and found this place in one of the tour books at our rental. What a terrific find it turned out to be! We enjoyed exploring the outdoor American Indian Village with reproductions of a longhouse and very informative hands on exhibits. The 16th century reproduction sailing ship was very fun to explore. You can get a real feel for what life would have been like traveling the sea for weeks on end in cramped conditions. There is also an English settelment site with an authentic blacksmith shop. Our 2 teenage boys even got to pound out their own nails! There is also an indoor museum of 400 years of the history of the outer banks (we didn't have much time to spend here but looked very interesting). All in all I thought the entire site was very well done. If you enjoy history you will like it. And all this for $8 we felt was a great deal.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Box Elder, South Dakota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I love fFestival Park, especially the 4th of July fireworks! The exhibits are wonderful. The place is very clean. The people are nice. They have free and/or low cost shows during the year. I love the art shows in the gallery.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You learned so much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

The authenticity of the recreations was amazing. The staff even more so. The museum is a gem. We will be back to see more! Beautiful setting, too.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roanoke Island Festival Park also viewed

Manteo, Outer Banks
Manteo, Outer Banks
 

Been to Roanoke Island Festival Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roanoke Island Festival Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.