We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, OK Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wicked Oyster

Wicked Oyster
50 Main St, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7433
+1 508-349-3455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, OK Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

The food here rocks, fresh, complex and nuanced, and is served quickly. It is not the most effusively friendly place if you are not a local.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    83
    31
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
EAST HAMPTON, CT
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We took friends to this Wellfleet spot. It was disappointing. The service was shaky--and for a week night which was not busy, it is not clear why it was so difficult to get our server's attention. Our food was ok...but nothing special. One of our friends ordered the oysters and loved them. Everything else was just average--but everything was overpriced.

I cannot recommend this spot. There are so many other wonderful places to eat, skip this one!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great food, nice owner, quaint atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This restaurant opens at 5 pm for dinner hour. It is recommended you have reservations on the weekends, although, we did walk in without one and the owner accommodated us without hesitation. The teens chose Bluecheese burgers for dinner, while my friend opted for the full dinner specialty of scallops. ( DELICIOUS !) while i chose the halibut dinner, sautéed in pineapple and mango. Dinner was outstanding ! All 5 of us were extremely pleased with the service and the food. The decor in the dining room is very simple, and it is a bit dark, but there is local artwork displayed on the walls for purchase, which ads a special touch to the ambiance . The parking lot in front can be tricky to get in and out of, so if you can pull in backwards when you have the chance - DO IT! The outside of the restaurant has beautiful flowers that great you as you enter, and the hostess is ready to greet you as you open the door. The restaurant can accommodate disabled patrons, though it COULD be slightly difficult to maneuver a wheelchair in the parking lot in front . ALL in all - Highly recommend this venue.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The coffee is too STRONG! Just like Starbucks - Breakfast served till 12noon. But the BEST PANCAKES AROUND.
The waitress was very friendly and accommodating to our needs.
We had Eggs, over easy with crispy beacon, red potatoes with skins that were all cooked perfectly. In addition, we shared a Short Stack of Pancakes with fresh fruit. The Pancakes were great! Cooked to perfection a little dark/crispy on the outside and fluffy/soft on the inside with each bite.
The best part of the meal was the price - it came out to around $23. All, and all you must stop in for Breakfast but skip the coffee, not unless you like it really Strong!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Enjoyed breakfast. Lovely setting - very historic feel to the building. The offerings were very nice. Open early!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wicked Oyster also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Wicked Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wicked Oyster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.