We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southfleet Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wellfleet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southfleet Motor Inn
999 Rt. 6, Wellfleet, MA 02642   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Wellfleet
MA
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Repeat customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

As a commercial photographer who often works out on the Cape I have used the Southfleet Motor Inn several times. Generally I just use it as a place for myself to stay close to the National Seashore, however we have also used it to put up clients who have attended my workshops. Probably even better as a family destination as its a great place for children too!

It's not high end luxury (but then again neither is the price) but features very large rooms, indoor/outdoor pools, and the owners are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Check out the restaurant next door as well, you won't be disappointed (Van Rensselaers)

We will be going back in 2013.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    36
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
40
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A great place--indoor (and outdoor) pool, decent breakfast, helpful and pleasant owners.
Restaurants on both sides, road to Marconi beach right across the street. EVERYTHING except waterfront. We've been here many times and expect to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have vacationed at the Southfleet on and off for 20 + years and have always been pleased with the cleanliness of the entire facility and the warmth and helpfulness of the owners. The indoor pool is fantastic for the whole family . this summer we vacationed with Kids and Grandchildren and they enjoyed it as much as Grandma and Grandpa !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is your basic motel but an excellent one. Our room was huge and clean. The location is excellent---close to Marconi, short drive to the beach,etc. Indoor pool was clean and the price was right (we stayed just after Memorial Day Weekend). The staff were polite and helpful.This is a great place for families. It's low price allowed us to enjoy more expensive restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

The mildew mold stink was so overpowering, it made our luggage smell like feet and our kids sick. Couldn't breath in our room and kept the door and window open through the night. Indoor pool was a nice option until 9pm for the kids but I wouldn't stay here again if it was the last hotel on earth.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southfleet, Owner at Southfleet Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are sorry you had an unsatisfying stay at our motel. We wish we had been notified of the problem during your stay . We were able to track down the room with the problem and corrected the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We took two rooms for a one-week family vacation. This is a no-frills place -- basic motel furnishings, plastic cups, no irons (but you can borrow from the front desk), no robes, etc. Biggest pros: location (between 2 good restaurants and across from Marconi station and beach); price; responsive of staff to requests; and an indoor pool, hot tub and game room for rainy days. Cons: the "Continental breakfast" was watermelon and your choice of bread, supermarket bagel, or English muffin; the hot water in the shower would fluctuate with other rooms' use of water; one room had a fly problem, the other had a musty smell from the air conditioner; there was some peeling paint and torn screens. The rooms were fine for the short time we spent in them, given how much there is to do on the Cape.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

While it is hard to rave about spending $200 to stay in an outdated motel on a highwAy, this really is the best of its kind. Rooms are clean, pools (indoor, outdoor, hot tub) are well-kept, and location is great- short ride to ocean beach, right on the rail trail, and steps away from several restaurants and an Icecream shop. There is coffee and icewater available all day for guests and the staff refills these so often that the ice never seems to melt and the coffee always tastes fresh. There are towels by the pool and these are restocked frequently as well. Only disappointment was the continental breakfast which was just stale mini-bagels, toast, and watermelon slices.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southfleet Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southfleet Motor Inn

Address: 999 Rt. 6, Wellfleet, MA 02642
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Wellfleet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Wellfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Year Built - 1974 Additional Property Description - 34 Room Motor Inn Is Surrounded By National Sea Shore And Opposite The Entrance To Marconi Beach, Bike Trail Access, Large Indoor Heated Pool And Hot Tub, Large Outdoor Pool, Sauna, Kids Playground, Game Room, Barbeque And Picnic Area, Guest Laundromat, And Morning Coffee. Free Wireless Internet Access For Our Guests. We Also Have 3 Restaurants Adjacent To The Property, And Are A Family Friendly Establishment. Room Amenities For All Rooms - Room Amenities - Air Conditioning / Am/Fm Alarm Clock / Balcony / Bath Tub / Cable/Satellite TV / Direct Dial Telephone / Hairdryer / No Smoking Room / Private Bath Or Shower / Refrigerator / Shower Technology - Voice Mail A1k - Max Occupancy - 2 Max Nbr Of Rollaways - 0 Room Description - 1 King Bed, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi A2q - Max Occupancy - 4 Max Nbr Of Rollaways - 0 Room Description - 2 Queen Beds, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi Dlx - Max Occupancy - 5 Max Nbr Of Rollaways - 0 Room Description - 2 Queen Beds, Pull Out Queen Sized Sleeper Sofa, Cable TV, A/C, Fridge, Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southfleet Motor Hotel Wellfleet
Southfleet Hotel Wellfleet
Southfleet Motel Wellfleet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southfleet Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southfleet Motor Inn to your Saves list