We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Family Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
3225 State Highway Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 44 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
NPZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Family Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Be prepared to wait, but it's well worth it. You get your menu while on line, you then order at the cashier's, and served at your table. Always bustling so plan an early arrival. Lots of nautical eye candy. The food is pretty darn good and is served informally on paper plates, plastic forks, etc. BYOB! There's a good, reasonably priced kid's menu. My only complaint would be that the serving sizes could be a bit larger. The soups and bisques are wonderful for those chilly Cape days. Take out is another great option.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    211
    49
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stop on the Cape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Our family enjoyed lunch at Moby Dick's. Kids menu had lots of options and seafood was delicious. We enjoyed bringing our own wine along

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
197 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Efficient and quick food however service patchy. BYO drink establishment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

First the good points. The seafood was hard to fault. The crab cakes were packed with meat and the fries were real potatoes cut thin. (Not frozen as best I could tell)
The food order was taken and in no time our appetizers arrived. The Lobster bisque was a little too creamy for my liking but not bad. I'd pass if I am back. The main courses also came quickly.
All the staff were friendly and efficient. However after our initial order arrived I think the wait staff changed out or something because we felt very neglected when it came to refills on our soft drinks. It's inexplicable as up until this point service was excellent.

I'd go go back down to Wellfleet on occasion to eat here but there are good seafood joints all over the Cape so can't see us making the 40 minute drive.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your compliments and for your constructive criticism. Our staff does a great job taking care of our guests but we can always do better. And we will. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food but Loooong Lines BYOB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went Tues. night at 7:30 and had 45 minute wait. Still a good size wait at 8:45 when we left. Raw oysters were some of the best any of us has ever had. Nothing fancy (get your own water) but excellent coastal food. Fried clams, lobster roll, blackened swordfish, fried oysters all great. Very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a family place. When we went there was just a short wait to be seated. You order, pay then get seated and wait for your meal. We ate there our first day in Wellfleet. There was something for everyone. The seafood was very good. We would go there again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Annemarie E, Thank you for your message. We are glad to hear that you would come here again and we hope that you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.