We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a seafood lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
3225 State Highway Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a seafood lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My wife and my impressions were that Moby Dicks is more suited to a casual lunch rather than a fancy dinner, but the quality of the food is what really counts. You order at the counter when you arrive then find a seat for yourself in the dining rooms. The atmosphere is very casual and if you want any alcoholic beverage with your food, you need to bring it in yourself. Aside from these issues, I highly recommend it for delicious seafood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    167
    40
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Latham, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Food here is consistently good, with seafood being the mainstay. Wait staff is courteous and quick. I've also ordered food for take out, and found the process quick and easy. The place is always busy though, factor that in when you visit. If you have to wait for a table, or your takeout order, there is a nice gift shop next door - with better quality souvenirs available.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Wellfleet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I were heading to the Vineyards in Truro, and we were looking for a place for lunch. I must say, the Trip Advisors hit this one right. I had probably the freshest piece of Cod I have ever had, my wife had a salad topped with Salmon. Both meals were fabulous, and the service was great also. It was very busy, which is a testament to the great food. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any seafood lover.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal / Great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went down to the Lower Cape on 11/12. Of course, had to have lunch at Moby Dick's. Very friendly waitstaff and the owners are very personable and friendly. They are always there ready and willing to do their best to make sure your meal is enjoyable. Had the clam chowder...excellent! Also had a Moby burger that was cooked to perfection. Very reasonable price. For a good meal at a reasonable price, the place can't be beat!! If you go anywhere, go to Moby Dick's in Wellfleet for a great meal!!
Unfortunately, closed for the season, but already can't wait for next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Decent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice seafood restaurant and number of choices is not limited. Even though we waited half an hour, it was worth it. Baked potato and the corn served as sides were excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.