We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood in Wellfleet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
3225 State Highway Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Takeout
Description: It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
Bristol, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great seafood in Wellfleet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I were heading to the Vineyards in Truro, and we were looking for a place for lunch. I must say, the Trip Advisors hit this one right. I had probably the freshest piece of Cod I have ever had, my wife had a salad topped with Salmon. Both meals were fabulous, and the service was great also. It was very busy, which is a testament to the great food. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any seafood lover.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    167
    40
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal / Great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went down to the Lower Cape on 11/12. Of course, had to have lunch at Moby Dick's. Very friendly waitstaff and the owners are very personable and friendly. They are always there ready and willing to do their best to make sure your meal is enjoyable. Had the clam chowder...excellent! Also had a Moby burger that was cooked to perfection. Very reasonable price. For a good meal at a reasonable price, the place can't be beat!! If you go anywhere, go to Moby Dick's in Wellfleet for a great meal!!
Unfortunately, closed for the season, but already can't wait for next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice seafood restaurant and number of choices is not limited. Even though we waited half an hour, it was worth it. Baked potato and the corn served as sides were excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, MA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Worthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My daughter and I were out here for a soccer tournament and after much searching on travel sites decided on Moby Dick for our dinner. We both like seafood and were very happy with the crab cakes, seafood gumbo, and lobster with steamers. Tips: arrive early. Even this late in the season it was already starting to get crowded just after 5 p.m. The service is a little odd you have to wait in line to go in and then order at the counter and pay and then sit down and then your food is brought to you. You may order dessert from your table and they will charge your credit card again but you are not able to tip from your credit card you must tip cash. Also there is no alcohol here but I saw folks enjoying BYOB. Not sure if they charge corkage. Quirky setup but worth it everything was well done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had scallops that were so fresh they could have jumped from the water onto the plate. Very lightly fried, but no breading, not greasy. The best we ever had anywhere!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.