We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
3225 State Highway Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped after reading reviews on tripadvisor. We were greeted at the door by a very nice young lady. She gave us instructions on how the ordering worked. My husband ordered the grilled scallop salad and I had the Greek salad. He said his scallops were the best he had all week. My salad was also very good. The owner came over and asked about our meals, refilled our drinks. Then he started giving us some traveling advice which we gladly took. We enjoyed the restaurant very much. Our only regret would be that we passed by this on our way out, and ended up at the Beachcomber, which was the worst food we had. Should have stopped again.....next time we will know.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    167
    40
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great cooking, simple environ, and polite young service for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We walked away from the long line out front of Moby Dick's on our first visit because we had to be at the drive-in movie by 8:15pm and hadn't planned our time appropriately. We returned the next night, a Wednesday, around 5:45pm and walked right in. As we were contemplating the menu, a mature gentleman walked past and, noticing our 6 and 8 year old daughters, asked if we'd seen the kid's menu, then handed us one. (Think it was the owner based on other reviews' descriptions.) It's BYOB, and the young Brit taking our order offered an ice bucket for us to take to the take, a nice touch others have also described. The food was great, from my wife's perfectly broiled scallops to the cobs of golden corn. The kids food was the best we've had in Wellfleet. My eldest daughter devoured her salmon; we appreciated that it came with a healthy side of apples. I had the Nantucket bucket, a combo of oysters, clams and a corn cob. My only complaint isn't one at all: I should have ordered more.

The only critique of Moby's is the very simple environs of the upper dining room. There are ceiling fans and a lovely breeze was coming in through the screens from the wetlands behind, but my wife mentioned it as the only component of the experience that didn't seem a good value, especially in light of the rave reviews. On the bright side, it wasn't a stuffy hot dining room teeming with a fishy odor.

In summary, it's a great place. Just prepare for the wait (or arrive before 6pm) and understand it's not a fine dining atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lobster and seafood galore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Moby Dicks is a favorite in Wellfleet. No question that the lobster and seafood is fresh and good, but the rest of the food is just average. Simple salads, corn on the cob, etc. Nothing fancy here. If you can find a seat on the covered patio it's nice and breezy, but the main restaurant is dark and tired. People line up for hours to get dinner here, so be prepared or go early.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stopped by Moby Dicks as it was lunch time and this was the first restaurant on our way driving down from Truro. We did not have high expectations as it was right on the highway and looked like a potential tourist trap with its gift shop and catchy name. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by a nice and helpful person at the front who explained us the menu and how the ordering works. We went with two of the daily specials, the fish tacos and scallop sandwiches. Both were fresh and yummy. I was not so impressed with the lobster bisque and my son did not like his lemonade either (hence 4 not 5 stars). The portions are NOT huge, but just enough. It is a nice and friendly place run by nice people. They also had crayons, coloring page and lobster tattoos for kids :-) I would definitely recommend for a quick lunch stop on the Cape...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
480 reviews 480 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
1,439 helpful votes 1,439 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL SEAFOOD MEALS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The seafood here is wonderful. Everything is fresh and prepared properly. The service is very good.
You order at the counter. Then, your meal is brought to your table.
I had the baked haddock dinner. My friend had the fried clam dinner. The clams were huge. She thought they would be tough. They weren't. We joked with the owner, asking if the clams came from Texas. They actually came from Chatham.
We enjoyed our meals and would return here on a future visit.
There is also a gift shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.