We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
3225 State Highway Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Description: It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on the way back from Provincetown. So happy we did! I had great broiled cod tacos and my husband had a delicious grilled salmon sandwich. The entire staff was so friendly and very informative. We cannot wait to go back for lunch again. The owners were so nice and informed us that their restaurant is BYOB, so feel free to bring your own beer and wine. We finished our meal with the key lime pie, which was fantastic!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Mazygirl, Thank you for stopping in and giving us a try. We are very happy that you had a great experience and for taking the time to share your comments. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    167
    40
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best on the Cape.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Moby Dicks, such a good place for any type and kind of sea food. Everything is so fresh and good, the food is just delicious the fish and chips and the tuna sandwich. met the owner Todd Barry such a nice guy really.

See you next time

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Roymon1988, Thank you for visiting us and for your review. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait for the first lobster of the season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We can't wait for our first lobster of the season at Moby Dick's. It's always fresh, steamed to perfection, and delicious. When we first came to Wellfleet about 16 years ago, we drove by Moby DIck's and I'll admit, we were a little skeptical. My brother, who was painting our house, decided to give them a try. He gave us an enthusiastic report. As soon as we ate our first meal there, we realized what we were missing--and what fools we were for passing by! Now we know Moby Dick's is the best family seafood restaurant on the cape (and our daughters acquired a taste for lobster there). Besides lobster, we love the seafood kabobs, broiled scallops, cod sandwich, chowder, lobster bisque, fresh salads, seafood gumbo and french fries. The girls enjoyed having crayons and coloring sheets available and eating at the cheerful picnic tables in the upper dining area--they still do! After dinner, they played on the boats outside, and sometimes we got a Christmas card picture. The kids were tan, their tummies full and the cape sunset gave a glow to their faces that were shiny from the melted butter they'd dipped their lobster in. Todd and Mignon always make us feel special (along with everyone else). The staff is great, when it's busy they are still cheerful and efficient. I appreciate their gluten free menu, as I have celiac disease. We have brought many family members and friends to Moby Dick's. They love it too. So treat yourself and your family to the best family restaurant and best fresh seafood on the cape. You will be well fed and taken care of. Who knows, after dinner, you may get the perfect picture of your kids for your Christmas card.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Sandy, Thank you so much for your very kind and very enthusiastic words! We opened for the season last Friday. When will we see you?????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be patient! IT’S WORTH IT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Every time we go to the Cape, this place is a must! The freshness of seafood will blow your mind and stomach away!
We usually order mussels and 2 lobsters for 2 people. Of course – don’t forget wine or beer, and enjoy!!!!
Love this place! Wish it was a location in NYC!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your review (and for your enthusiasm!) We just opened for the season Friday and hope that you will be able to make it to Wellfleet (and Mobys) sometime this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There is often a long line to wait for your turn to order your food; but, it's well worth it. My family looks forward to Moby Dicks each summer. The lobster rolls and seafood are a treat. The restaurant is not fancy; but, that's part of the Cape Cod experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Riley0927, Thank you for your review! We open for the season on May 3rd. We hope we'll see you sometime this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Chatham, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.