We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be patient! IT’S WORTH IT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick's

Moby Dick's
3225 State Highway Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667
508-349-9795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be patient! IT’S WORTH IT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Every time we go to the Cape, this place is a must! The freshness of seafood will blow your mind and stomach away!
We usually order mussels and 2 lobsters for 2 people. Of course – don’t forget wine or beer, and enjoy!!!!
Love this place! Wish it was a location in NYC!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your review (and for your enthusiasm!) We just opened for the season Friday and hope that you will be able to make it to Wellfleet (and Mobys) sometime this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    165
    40
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

There is often a long line to wait for your turn to order your food; but, it's well worth it. My family looks forward to Moby Dicks each summer. The lobster rolls and seafood are a treat. The restaurant is not fancy; but, that's part of the Cape Cod experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Riley0927, Thank you for your review! We open for the season on May 3rd. We hope we'll see you sometime this season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Our entire family LOVES Moby Dick's - Best Fresh Seafood, Excellent Service and GREAT VALUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We have probably eaten at Moby Dick's 35 times often with a large family contingent. Owners Todd & Mignon really know the winning combination: create a hard working customer focused culture, buy fresh daily seafood, consistently deliver it well prepared, accomodate a strong following and even make you seem special in the process. If you like great seafood without the fancy trappings you MUST come to Moby Dick's. We drive 15 miles past plenty of other places to experience Moby Dick's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Duffy Family, Thank you for your extremely kind words. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you this summer (and hearing about your winter travels)! best, Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Finally stopped ...Happy we did!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Been driving by this place for years and always kept on going till this summer when my wife said, "Let's try it!" So happy we did. The food was fresh and prepared flawlessly with a nice balance of herb and spices. Serving staff was efficient and friendly. We felt the prices were fair for Cape Cod in season. Outside the place looks typical of Rt.6 restaurants though cleaner than most. Inside the decor has a nice nautical feel and puts you in a good mood for dinner. The food even smells fresh as if it just came off the docks at Wellfleet. Cooked perfectly despite the crowds. We tend to go to the same restaurants each year on the Cape and from now on Moby Dicks will be one of them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Bud and Ellie, Thank you for giving us a try and for writing such a great review! I hope we'll see you this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The place for great seafood on the Cape!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I know, a very bold statement. Very, very bold statement for Cape Cod. You have to try it, if you do, you will agree. The food is fresh, cooked perfectly and huge portions. The prices are very reasonable when you take the portion size into consideration. It is not fancy but thats half the appeal. Anyone can come on in and enjoy a great meal. The staff are excellent and this is a must stop when on the Cape! If you don't you'll regret it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MobyDicks33, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Jeremy,, Wow! Thank you for your review and extremely kind words. We REALLY appreciate it and hope we'll see you this summer. Oh, we will be opening on Friday, May 3rd. Best, Todd Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Chatham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.