We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Rensselaer's Restaurant

Van Rensselaer's Restaurant
1019 Rte 6, Wellfleet, MA 02663
(508) 349-2127
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Delicious food, gracious hospitality. A great way to end a wonderful weekend on the Cape. Even though there is no ocean view, the decor is nice and the screened in patio is very pleasant.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    79
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long Wait for Breakfast, Disappointing, Tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

August 24, 2014 - We've come to the Cape for the last 18 years. We always come to Van Rensselaer's for the Breakfast Buffet, never minding the long wait for a table. The Buffet is no longer available, that was disappointing enough. But we waited outside for 25 minutes for a table, to find the restaurant was not full. We were served 3 cups of coffee, before we had to ask for our breakfast order. We were a party of 9 adults, served 3 plates first, then another 3, then 2, then 1. The first three people were done by the time the last person was served. Other tables were complaining, even asking for their order 'to-go!' The food was ordinary, not special, some missing side orders, some without ingredients that were 'included,' and some dishes mixed up. And a "Full Stack" of blueberry pancakes is a medium order of 3 pancakes! Expect to pay $2.50 extra if you want real maple syrup! Hash browns are a small scoop, a fresh fruit side is 4 small cubes of asst. fruit.... Our server was polite, but not very helpful during our wait. The kitchen was much too slow, especially since it was not crowded. For families with children, there will be a lot of crying! We will not return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place--owners make it special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This restaurant is locally owned and they have had a great reputation for a long time. I have eaten there when we are on the Cape for the summer but neglected to write a review since everyone we know on the Cape knows about this great place so I thought they did not need my help. However, after eating there last night I felt like I had to review this cozy spot. Actually, it is a big place but the rooms are separated so you feel like you are in a small place. We had an adorable waitress who turned out to be one of our neighbors in Eastham from a few streets away. We ordered the bistro size dinners and I was glad I did since it was very filling and plenty for one person. Wonderful fresh seafood over pasta, a delicious salad bar and a beautiful friendly waitress. What more could you ask for. The owner was buzzing about the place making sure everyone was happy and getting what they wanted and needed. Super place. Don't miss it. We did not have to stand in line at 7:00 p.m. to wait for our food. That in itself is a gift on the Cape in the summer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“We went twice for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Seems like a popular spot for locals as the staff knew a lot of the customers. We did go there twice so it was our place of choice to eat breakfast. While the cappucino's and mocha's I believe are machine made they are actually pretty good compared to what you can normally get in the North East so this alone would have me going back if I was local. On the breakfast choices they do have a wide variety of choices but the French Toast was what we all enjoyed the most and I would have to say better than what a lot of other places offer for French Toast. The other choices such as pancakes, waffles, eggs benedict I thought were good but not great like the French Toast.

One nice edition is the crayons to keep the kids entertained at the table!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You'll never go wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were with a party of 8, including a two-year-old. The staff was quite attentive, and the food was delicious. I had the broiled scallops, and they were delicately cooked and seasoned, and served with a fresh vegetable medley.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Rensselaer's Restaurant also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Van Rensselaer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Rensselaer's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.