We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and pretty outdoor room for dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van Rensselaer's Restaurant

Van Rensselaer's Restaurant
1019 Rte 6, Wellfleet, MA 02663
(508) 349-2127
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Wellfleet
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
515 reviews 515 reviews
373 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Delicious food and pretty outdoor room for dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had a very enjoyable dinner. We started with the salad bar(one trip) for $5.50 each. The salad bar had many options-plenty of fresh vegetables. I had the bistro size salmon with potato and vegetable. It was very fresh and tasty. My husband had the seafood linguini- shrimp, scallops, halibut. He enjoyed his too. We passed on dessert- too full. In addition we had very good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    78
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome stuffed shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This is a place that I make sure to go to every time I'm on the cape. The service is always great and the food is always consistent. I always get the filet with baked stuffed shrimp. The seafood stuffing is my favorite. Although I believe this visit the portions of both our meals seemed a bit smaller but that's ok, it's still enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Best chowder on the cape. Nice menu. Price is reasonable. Atmosphere is quite welcoming staff very nice.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We dined at Von Rensselear's with a party of six. Wait time was pretty good. Service was attentive. We were on the patio, and management came out and turned on a heater as it was breezy as the sun went down. Food was good, only was not happy but it was to personal taste than quality. We will definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fanastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Read the reviews and decided to give Van Renssalaer's a try. The food was fantiastic! Great Chowder, the fresh fish choices of the day are prepared various ways. My wife enjoyed the Striped Bass made with a delicious lobster hash. I had the lobster stuffed baked shrmip, which was some of the best I have ever had. Food presentation was top notch. Dinners range in the $25 - $30 range but well worth it. Service was great. If you are seeking a great dining experience while on the Cape, give this place a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Van Rensselaer's Restaurant also viewed

Wellfleet, Cape Cod
Wellfleet, Cape Cod
 

Been to Van Rensselaer's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van Rensselaer's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.