We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayaking to Great Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Island Trail

Great Island Trail
Wellfleet, MA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 26 things to do in Wellfleet
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Shutesbury
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Kayaking to Great Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We put in at the Chequesset bridge and paddled out to Jeremy's Point. A little over 2 miles each way. Stopped at the site of the old Tavern and swam off the point. Beautiful place! Hiking the trails also beautiful. There is a long, sandy stretch before you reach the trail-this part is tricky with small children.
Every time we visit Cape Cod we head out to Great Island and let our worries disappear!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great walk anytime of year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just spent the weekend at the Cape and enjoyed our walk at Great Island Trail. This beautiful preserved piece of land encompasses many different terrains and you can walk it year round. We have visited this spot in rain, cold, and beauiful sunny days in the summer and winter. There is alot to see as well as historical sites on the walk. Park at the parking lot that is above the tidal area near the bridge. We parked near the bridge below once to put our kayaks in and made it back just in time before the extreme high tide got to the front wheel of my car. There are different trails for all levels of walkers and you can always end up on the beach if you want an easier walk back. Take water and a snack if you decide to do Jeffreys Point, and again, check the tide if you go that far as the point is coverd when the tide comes in. Beautiful views, great easy walk for all and don't let a little rain keep you away. That said, heavy rains or really bad weather is not recommended for taking a walk there. Get out and enjoy this amazing place, you will feel like you are on your own island. Good kayaking spot as well, safe harbor to the left of the land and on the right around the point it can get a bit choppy depending on the weather.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Attraction That Gives You Peace of Spirit, Beauty and Exercise FREE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a magical place. Once you cross the island bridge, civilization lies behind you and harmony with nature and the way of the past awaits you. The parking lot is at the top of one of the only hills and has picnic tables and detailed maps. The trails bring you past Indian burial sites, along tidal flats, through jack pine meadows, past surprising monuments in the middle of nowhere and to the site of an old whaling tavern. It is worth picking up a wildflower and birding guide to bring with you - hawks, turns, gulls, wild cranberries, beachplums and sea lavender await you and it would be a shame not to recognize them. I've been visiting the area since the 1960's, when it was all owned by one family - the Hendersons-who cherished this haven and left it to nature even while living there. Not much has changed since their stewardship - that's what makes this such a wonderful and peaceful place! These are LONG hikes, so be prepared. And please, only visit if you are reverent of nature and will leave it as you find it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great hike, great location interesting sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is the second time we have done this hike and it was just as good as the first. There were 11 of us out there for about 5 hours. Started the hike at high tide so the beginning was a little tricky to avoid the water but all was good. Had our lunch at the point and headed up the beach to finish up. Plenty of wildlike, alive and dead. The boys enjoyed that for sure. Nice parking and easy to get to. The map could be a little more detailed at the site and online but all in all a great day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Hike on the Cape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The best on the Cape. Beaches, ocean, dunes, woodland and harbor walks all in the same hike. Unspoiled with views of Wellfleet Haarbor and Provincetown. Bring water and keep an eye on the tides. The whole loop can take several hours, be prepared.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Island Trail also viewed

 

Been to Great Island Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Island Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.